We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome but can do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours

Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours
26b Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
0800367326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 201 Activities in Queenstown
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome but can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went for ECO tour on two vouchers we bought online. The trip was overall satisfactory and with some breathtaking views along the way.

We believe a few things can be improved on:
1.The bus was a bit old (especially the seating) and in our view was no where near "luxury" as it claimed. It made a few people sick, particularly people sitting at the back;

2.The movie which was put on on our way back (the worlds fastest Indian) was a good one, but the voice/stereo was too loud, which made some (people who prefer other means of entertainment) impossible to hear our own devices;

3.The picnic lunch supplied on the boat (as part of the package) was really "simple". So suggest you bring your own food and drinks.


The biggest highlight during or visit was not actually the scenery (stormy and miserable weather in the Milford sounds), it was or guide Jessie – very knowledgeable, fun and engaging. We believe he is definitely the best asset to the tour organiser, if without him we would have rated this trip below average. Thanks Jessie!

Crespo & Sarah

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoToursFiordland, Manager at Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Crespo and Sarah,

Many thanks for your constructive feedback. We certainly appreciate your comments and I'd like to address each of the points in turn -

1. The bus is defined as a luxury bus in NZ and this is the only coach operating from Queenstown that provides all the inclusions we currently do which is: toilet / twin TV screens / glass roof / generous legroom. Nevertheless, we have noted your point about the seating and will review with our coach providor. In terms of making people feel sick, unfortunately, this does tend to be part and parcel of coach travel for some people and is often not coach specific. We did not receive any feedback from these customers.

2. There is no definitive company policy regarding movie's being shown on the way back from Milford although the drivers quite often find passengers appreciate it as it does pass the time. Our suggestion would be that if it was too loud, if you had mentioned it to Jessie at the time he would have been able to help you.

3. We have spoken to our food provider about this feedback. Again we did not receive any other comments about the food on that day.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we will also pass on your comments to Jessie.

Cheers,
Eco Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    8
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery complimented by the most professional Jessie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The trip on the way to Milford Sound doesn't appear too long due to the several stops - the longest at Te Anou at a cafe/shop , several rest room stops and several photo / short walk stops. The coach is comfortable and the glass roof makes viewing even easier. The return trip does seem to take longer however, was helped by Jessie putting on a film (The World's fastest Indian - GREAT film!).

Milford Sound itself doesn't need any introduction - this is so worth doing - its simply amazing and breath taking.

This particular company has a gem of a driver / tour guide called Jessie. He is very professional, very informative and very natural at his job! Worth choosing this company just to get Jessie.

Great day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoToursFiordland, Manager at Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Askiskiski - really pleased you had such a Great Day!

Thanks for the feedback - from everyone at Eco Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked with Eco tours on a special deal of one ticket half price for two people. Great value. Jessie was a great bus driver/tour guide. His commentary was well polished and very interesting. There were good stops along the way to the sound, including a short walk through amazing rain forest terrain. The bus rides are long (appx four hours each way) but well worth it. The scenery on the way is spectacular and the time goes quickly. Our bus had a glass top which is good for when the bus was close to the mountains. If you are thinking about going with a cheaper company because it doesn't have a glass roof top,I would say that it is good to have a glass top but not completely necessary. The view outside the windows is more than enough to take in the views. The Milford Sound is of course amazing. It has an amazing Jurassic feel about it. The bus trip back went quickly with the help of a movie. A fantastic day. Thanks Jessie for a great trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoToursFiordland, Manager at Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Kia Ora Dawn,

Yes, Milford Sound is certainly 'Spectacular'. The whole team here is delighted you had such a great day and thank you for your review. We hope you had a great holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great service, awesome tour guide Oz, I got to see seals and dolphins!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I really enjoyed my Milford Sound Day Trip on Fri 02 Aug 2013, good value for money!

Besides the stunning natural scenery, our coach driver of the day Mr Phil, known as Oz as he was from Australia, was an outstanding and professional guide / driver who made the trip even more enjoyable! Oz was very knowledgeable about all the sights, and he had a very good sense of humor, entertained the whole group with laughters, making our long bus journey very interesting. It was obvious that Phil was so passionate about his job and he did an AWESOME job!

On the cruise to Milford Sounds, I got to see a bunch of relaxed fat seals sun baking on the rocks and a few playful dolphins swimming around our boat, super cute!!!

On the way back, after stopping at Te Anau for a short break, Oz patiently looked for 2 Asian passengers who failed to return at the agreed time, and we only left when they were found safe and sound, what a happy ending! :)

The day trip was very long, I was extremely impressed that Oz kept his enthusiasm and professionalism to the end of the day past 8pm! Good on you Oz!

I am very happy to recommend Eco Tours and Oz to my friends! Keep up your good work! Thank you very much for giving me such an unforgettable beautiful memory of Milford Sound and friendly Kiwis! :)

Cheers,
Mandy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoToursFiordland, Manager at Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Mandy - Oz is an institution in this part of the world so thank you for your feedback and we're delighted you had such a good trip with us last month. You're also lucky to see dolphins as they are not always around. It was our privilage to be able to show you our small corner of the world.
Thanks from all of us at Eco Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gotta do this if checking out NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Drove to Te Anau and spent a few nights at the Explorer motel run by MJ who's a real peach ... Asked if she was cooking us dinner the first night.... She didn't but she did bring over some lovely cup cakes, gave us some great advice on what to do and where to go and set us up in a very roomy two bedroom apartment at a very reasonable rate. The motel was very clean and cosy warm with all you need for a family. It's not five star but it was great and the service was five star!!
Took the glow worm cave cruise that afternoon and it was really well run and a different experience that is well worth the time and money. Did as MJ told us and went to the cinemas to watch the fiordeland doco and that really gives you an idea of what this south land has in store... Well worth a look see and not too long.
Next day Eco tours picked us up for our bus trip down to Milford and a cruise on Milford sound. The bus was about a 20 seater and that was great as not too many at each stop yet enough to have some interesting chats or none at all. The driver was really terrific his name is Frank a great character with plenty of knowledge of the area and a pleasant voice for listening to as we passed all the sights. After 30 odd years in the area as a paramedic and many other things he was the perfect host with a good sense of humor and made the amazing scenery all the more enjoyable.
The many stops and the Milford sound itself were a site to be seen and definitely don't miss it if you get to the southland!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoToursFiordland, Manager at Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Topcatau,

Thanks so much for your comments and we very much apprecaite your feedback. Frank certainly knows this part of the world and it's great that he is able to show it to visitors from outside the region. We're glad you enjoyed your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco Tours Milford Sound - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.