We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip

Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip
37 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-442 7340
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milford Sound is the jewel of the South Island and a must see destination and Kiwi Discovery have been running trips to Milford Sound for over 25 years. Travel on the luxury coach with ample leg room and full commentary from Queenstown or Te Anau & ride in comfort as you take in the spectacular scenery.Once in Milford we join the Mitre Peak cruise boat, for that personal and up close experience. The boat does not take tour groups just "like minded independant travellers". So sit back and enjoy the complimentary tea and coffee and full commentary from our experienced guides as you learn the history of Fiordland National Park. A great value trip without the luxury price.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Worth getting up early for. 6:30 start for a great day out. Excellent tour guide giving lots of information during the journey. Stopping at all the attractions with time for photos etc, magnificent views of the scenery breathtaking views of the mountain peaks. Arrived in plenty of time for the cruise which was awesome. Then back on coach for the ride home we watched a movie after our stop at Te Anu great ride home. Thanks alot to Kevin our driver. Will recommend this trip and great value, We ordered the picnic lunch when we booked this was great value or you can bring your own as there is not much there to buy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Front Office Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments! Our driver Kevin has been working for Kiwi Discovery for years and is definitely passionate about Milford Sound and the Fiordland area, we are glad you enjoyed the commentary and information throughout the trip. Thanks again for the review and we are glad you were able to experience Milford Sound with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    47
    6
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Routeburn Track with Kiwi Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Kiwi Discovery arranged accommodations before and after the hike and transportation to and from the trail. We stayed at the Garden Court Suites in Queenstown and this was very nice. Transportation worked out as planned. Kiwi Discovery arranged our permits for the Track and two nights in huts. They rented equipment to us and it was just fine...light weight packs, sleeping bags with liners and cook kits. With all the outfitters in Queenstown, it would have been possible to arrange everything ourselves, but I am so glad to have had their services and have it all taken care of before we landed in Queenstown.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
The Routeburn is often dwarfed by the more popular Milford track, although the Routeburn tends to be a locals favourite - often rated better than the Milford track, so great to hear you enjoyed it as much as we do.
Yes you are correct you can organise everything in town, but our staff have years of experience and often know the best way to arrange the times of the buses, have helpful local tips and make the whole process smoother. We certainly try to be the "one stop shop" for your track packages so will pass your comments on to the team.
Hopefully see you next year for the Kepler or even the Landsborough trip?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stranded by Kiwi Discovery after a 2 day hike”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I hiked the beautiful Routeburn Track near Queenstown, NZ, and we arranged a shuttle with Kiwi Discovery to pick us up at the trail end. The hike was amazing, but after carrying our food/water/sleeping bags on the trail for 2 days, you can imagine how eager we were to get picked up by the shuttle and taken back to our hotel. We got to the pick-up location (The Divide) in advance of our scheduled 3:30pm pickup by Kiwi Discovery. So we waited.

And waited. And waited. Other shuttle companies picked up their customers and left, but no sign of Kiwi Discovery. There is no cell reception out there, so we were left completely in the dark about what happened and how we would get home!

Thankfully, my wife and I managed to hitchhike 2 hours to Te Anu, where we called Kiwi Discovery and were told the shuttle driver simply forgot to stop to pick us up.

To their credit, the lady on the phone was nice and apologetic and directed us to a different company's bus that took us back to our hotel in Queenstown. However, I never received a call or email from their management to apologize. Instead, I was told that I would have to reach out to them if I wanted to get a refund for the shuttle ride that never arrived. I didn't bother.

Instead I'm here to warn other customers of Kiwi's irresponsible drivers and lack of customer service by their management. How about a little effort from the management team to make amends when you stranded two customers in the wilderness who were counting on you to pick them up after a 2 day hike?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, General Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi seelaunyc,

Please accept my apology for the problem with your pickup. Unfortunately it was simply a case of driver error, he misread the manifest and didn’t see the pickup at the Divide. This type of error is something we take very seriously and we have been speaking with the driver about it. I am very sorry you had this inconvenience and would appreciate if you could contact me directly tim@kiwidiscovery.com or our frontline team info@kiwidiscovery.com so we can arrange a refund for the transfer. We would also like to offer you a complimentary coach & cruise trip to Milford Sound. I hope this incident did not spoil the rest of your holiday and hope you will visit us again.

Tim Barke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Milford sound with Kiwi Discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was an amazing trip, well worth it! The driver was awesome and organised our flight back to Q'town. Thanks team :)

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thanks Dasha for your review, great to hear you had a good time. Will be sure to pass your comments to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Great day tour to Milford Sound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Fun and memorable day tour to Milford Sound. Bus was in good condition and reasonably comfortable, which made the long journey there and back tolerable. We stopped a number of times at beautiful sites for pictures. The boat trip was great and we got close to the seals and waterfalls. Would recommend Kiwi Discovery.

Visited December 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Yes people forget it is a VERY long way so a comfortable coach really helps. Great to hear you got to see seals and enjoyed the waterfalls at Milford Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip also viewed

 

Been to Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.