We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try Another Tour Company” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip

Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip
37 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-442 7340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 165 activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Milford Sound is the jewel of the South Island and a must see destination and Kiwi Discovery have been running trips to Milford Sound for over 25 years. Travel on the luxury coach with ample leg room and full commentary from Queenstown or Te Anau & ride in comfort as you take in the spectacular scenery.Once in Milford we join the Mitre Peak cruise boat, for that personal and up close experience. The boat does not take tour groups just "like minded independant travellers". So sit back and enjoy the complimentary tea and coffee and full commentary from our experienced guides as you learn the history of Fiordland National Park. A great value trip without the luxury price.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Saint Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try Another Tour Company”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Milford Sound is gorgeous but Kiwi Discovery did everything possible to make it unenjoyable. Crowded bus with no skylights; terrible tour guide; more than half-hour late pick-up; ran late all day; complete confusion on bus and with other passenger pick-ups; missed rest stops; no food at the rest stop we took. Milford Sound is worth the trip, but take any tour company BUT Kiwi Discovery!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Frank
Sorry to read your comments and it's certainly not the way we normally run the trips, our drivers pride themselves on their commentary and making the trip a special day for everyone that travels with us.
We stop in Te Anau on both the outward and return journey at the Country Kitchen Cafe enabling people to purchase food and refreshments for their trip, I'm not sure why there was no food available or why the trip was running late, therefore if you can let us know what date you travelled, we can investigate further.
I know the Milford Road had a few closures due to a dangerous rock fall and flooding, however this would have effected the drivers of all companies as they would have had to work round these, maybe the day you travelled and the lateness would have been due to this unavoidable closure.
We were sorry to hear your trip was not enjoyable and although disappointed to receive your comments, all feedback is invaluable as it gives us the opportunity to assess our operation and make improvements if necessary.
I hope the rest of your New Zealand travels went well and please contact us if you planning to be down that way again, we'd love to offer you the opportunity to revisit this magical place with us again.
tim@kiwidiscovery.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great tour, even better scenery......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was very impressed with the tour.

A prompt pick up and a much needed breakfast stop started the day. The driver knew his stuff and gave lots of information but knew when to stop on the way back and was easy to listen too.

As for the Milford Sound, it is pretty spectacular, the drive into Fjordland itself is fantastic and we stopped for a few photo stops which were great to stretch the legs.

The actual boat trip was also good, only a small boat but not packed and enough room outside and in. I would definitely use these guys again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The trip was nicely and conveniently planned. The guide/ driver was very helpful and very informative. The pick up time was done on time and we got our drop right upto the hotel even though it was little out of the way. The bus was very comfortable and so was the cruise.

However, I was disappointed by the fact I was told it will be glass ceiling bus for the trip. But sadly, that was NOT the case!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We reviewed the various providers going to Milford Sound and it seems we made the right choice. The coach was comfortable, and the driver provided a friendly and interesting commentary (although he made a few mistakes... heads up, the Treaty of Waitangi was signed in 1840, not 1823. Of course that won't matter to non-Kiwis though). We stopped at a number of beautiful places along the way, so that we enjoyed the trip there almost as much as the Sound itself. The cruise part was with Mitre Peak cruises. I think I had based my ideas of what Milford Sound was like on those gorgeous postcards, so I was a little letdown when it wasn't quite as beautiful on the day we visited. However, the cruise was good, there were views available from all angles both indoors and out. When we got close to some seals and waterfalls, the engine was turned off, making for a nice video or photo opportunity. It is worthwhile exploring the boat, we found a nice spot outside at the front.
We opted to do the 'Coach Special', which was a 30-minute helicopter ride, meeting up with the coach to continue the other 3.5 hours back to Queenstown (this cost about $300 per person). It was absolutely amazing. We flew through snow-capped peaks and landed on a glacier, where we got to run around in the snow (in summer!). The views were absolutely stunning - gorgeous valleys, lakes and glaciers. It was definitely worth the money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for your comments and choosing Kiwi Discovery, we know there are many options to Milford Sound and so we try our best to offer something unique and great value for money. We've been going there for nearly 25 years and yes I think you got the best of both worlds, the journey in via coach (and looking up) and then the scenic flight out (looking down), definately something I would recommend if the weather and budget permits.
I have passed your comments on to our operations manager and hope the "Treaty date error" was a one off mistake on the day. We work hard to ensure all our facts and information are correct.
Milford is such a different experience at any time of year, and although the rain isn't ideal for sun lovers, the waterfalls can be amazing when it does pour down.
Hopefully you'll come visit at another time of year and see it in a different season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“En route to Te Anau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We used Kiwi Discovery for our gear rental and the bus trip before and after the Milford Track, as we departed from and returned to Queenstown. We were happy with the sleeping bags and cooking equipment that we rented from them, and the bus trip was nice and efficient. We simply alerted the driver what we were doing and he made sure our bags were pulled off at the correct stop. The bus was continuing on for a day trip, which I think the other reviews are referencing. Note: I think I am over-simplifying all of the coordination that my husband did to connect us from Queenstown to the start of the tramp. Private message if more questions.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for your comments, I hope you enjoyed the Milford Track, hopefully we'll see you again perhaps this time for the Routeburn Track which we can help arrange.
And yes anyone else reading this - we offer a range of transport options (as well as day trips to Milford Sound) under the Kiwi Discovery brand so Neubz is refering to our track transport and camping rentals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip also viewed

 

Been to Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip to your Saves list