We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but terrible motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Motel

Save Saved
You added Lakeside Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Motel
18 Lake Esplanade,, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Burnie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location but terrible motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July. The room was very old and outdated. The lounge room had two couches (sofa beds) that were ratty and hard as rock. Both bedrooms were cold and only had two power plugs meaning it was I possible to have both electric blankets and alarm clock going. The kitchen was gross and the taps wouldn't turn off properly, nor did the hot water run straight away ( often having to wait a few minutes for it to warm up). We didn't cook anything there due to fear of using the oven. The bathroom was very basic and the bath was stained and old and the shower was in the bath but we were to scared to shower, due to the look of it. The hotel was cold and they only had a tiny heater. Overall the room was clean, but everything was old and outdated and in need of replacement. Not a place that I would recommend to anyone. Not worth the money. However it did have a great view of the lake and mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALASTAIR L, Manager at Lakeside Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeside Motel. We are one of the older, and less expensive motels in Queenstown, in a highly desirable location - just a 2 minute lakeside stroll from central Queenstown's shops and restaurants. We aim to provide clean and comfortable accommodation with a kitchen in every room, and at a budget price. However, we did not meet your expectations. Winter in Queenstown is cold. We do all we can to keep our guests warm, including heating in both bedrooms, and the lounge. There are electric blankets on all beds. We are available 24/7 to attend to any guest request. You are right - the view from every unit in the motel, of the lake and mountains, across the road, is amazing. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Lakeside apartments next door with teenage boys which was great location. Two bedroomed apartments with kitchen and living area upstairs. Easy walk into town for food and facilities. Rooms were clean and warm and close to Rydges hotel for pick up to ski fields.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We needed a place to overnight and ended up at the Lakeside Motel. It was very basic, the room was cold (had a small portable heater in it), but it was clean and the view was great. It's a bit away from the downtown area of Queenstown so it was quiet. If you go there in winter, ask for an upstairs room--better room and a bit warmer. We had no problem with the staff. If you want a very basic room for a good price, this motel should suit your needs, but don't expect any luxuries.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is older style accommodation but the room is large and clean and very good value for money. One of the best views in town without the problem of a steep hill walk. Kitchen has everything you need. Has a lounge chair so you can put your feet up after a long day and a table and chairs so you can eat. The view is great and the location very handy.

Room Tip: best value for money in town ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March. The location was great with a beautiful view of the lake and not even a 5 minute walk into the heart of town. The room was pretty worn out and the whole place could do with a face lift but for the price it was reasonable.

It was fine for what we want which was just a bed at night close to the action as we were out most the time we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great view of Lake Wakatipu from the room, nice sitting area outside the room with a view of the lake. Parking was a little tight - we had to park a distant away from the motel. This motel is great value for money though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Desperately in need of a refurbished kitchen and bathroom, but very clean, loads of space in the rooms, fantastic lake view and only 5 minutes walk from town centre. Basic, but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel

Address: 18 Lake Esplanade,, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Queenstown apartments - Located right on the waterfront. Level walking distance to Queenstown Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lakeside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.