We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Aspen Lodge Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Save
You added Aspen Lodge Backpackers to your Saves list
11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 13 nights in a private double and would definetely come back. Staff was very friendly and helpful, shower was good and everything was very clean (even the fridge!).

The only thing I would have wished for was new cooking pans, as all of the ones who were available had definetely seen better days but that alone is not enough to knock anything off the rating.

For the rate I was paying I think this is an excellent choice, and the location is pretty much perfect (quiet, yet very close to town centre and supermarket just 5 mins away).

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
41
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived in town without reservations and the Tourist Info recommended this place. We got a private double, it was very clean but there was no TV in our room and all the other backpackers we stayed in did have them in the private rooms. Also there was no heat in the shared bathroom. We ended up moving to The Black Sheep for a better and cheaper room with a TV. The staff was extremely nice though and the people staying in the dorm rooms seem to be enjoying themselves so if you're looking for a dorm bed this review should be ignored.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We only stayed here for one night in July 2011 and booked at the last minute (stranded in QT due to the airport being closed). We chose it based on the reviews here, and they didn't steer us wrong - it's a genuinely nice place to stay.

The location is great if you're after somewhere quiet - it's just outside the centre of town, away from all the noise, but only a short walk into town. The rooms are simple, clean and warm, and the beds are fairly comfy. The two kitchens are well equipped, and there's plenty of space to store food. The staff at reception were lovely, and since there were three of us travelling together she gave us a 4-bed dorm room to ourselves, which was really nice. There are two common rooms in the main building - one has several computers for guest use and is designated as a quiet room, which is a nice touch. The main common room has a lovely open fire and comfy couches, and is a great spot to hang out and chat with other travellers. It's also got a small balcony with a great view of the mountains - the perfect spot to enjoy a couple of drinks when the sun hits it in the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Clealiness is everything! located around 5 min walk from the busy town. So, quite a quiet place with gorgeous view. There even have small fire place to warm up yourself in winter! Even dorm rooms are equipped with ensuite bathroom. Pleasant stay! And friendly staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights with my husband in a double ensuite room. Simple but well done. Everything felt clean. Wasnt too noisy. Location is great because you are right by the hustle and bustle but not too close that you can get away from it if you want. Really friendly and helpful staff. Our only dislike was the kitchen TV lounge in the double rooms area (there are 2 in the hostel)- can use a general update and a good scrub. Otherwise cant find any faults. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Fantastic little hostel. Staff were enthusiastic and happy to help you feel at home. If you are planning to do a bit of backpacking this is a great place to have a stop, two large communal kitchens with all nessacary equipment and good sized and clean bathrooms. In the winter there is a nice log fire that is always burning which is good after a day of boarding! My only gripe is the beds, I am pretty tall 6'4" and they were a little short, and they creak all the time, but aside from that the place is great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

enjoyed the company and easy access into town, didn't want to leave! great walks in the summer, super trips around the area, lots to see and do. I slept well, it was clean and tidy, and was high priority. would love to go back one day :) met some great friends that i continue to keep in contact with.i am now expecting my first child in september and we will be naming him Aspen. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Lodge Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.