We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 3 night stay ended in 3 months!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Aspen Lodge Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Save
You added Aspen Lodge Backpackers to your Saves list
11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a 3 night stay ended in 3 months!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

enjoyed the company and easy access into town, didn't want to leave! great walks in the summer, super trips around the area, lots to see and do. I slept well, it was clean and tidy, and was high priority. would love to go back one day :) met some great friends that i continue to keep in contact with.i am now expecting my first child in september and we will be naming him Aspen. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
41
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We ended up in a twin room at the hostel as all the double rooms had been booked. The hostel is not far from town and the double/twin rooms are set back from the main hostel and so are a bit quieter. The room was clean and tidy with a two ring hob, sink, towels and hair dryer. Beds were a bit uncomfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

the room was clean but pretty skimpy (old style shower that doesn't have its own "pan" so all the water gets all over the bathroom when you shower). the facilities are really basic. their dryer was broken when we were there and it was really annoying that they seemed to take no interest in getting it fixed (there's a good laundry facility across the road). center of town is just 5 minute walk, which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had booked a double room, non-ensuite as it was not available anymore. But is was a good spaceous room, with big windows and door to outside area. Very good compared to what we have had before for that price (68 nzd). Kitchen could have been cleaner, but we went out for dinner anyway (as you should in queenstown). Host was very friendly to give us some tips around Queenstown. Big supermarket just 10 min up the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for three nights total, 2 nights before a Doubtful Sound trip and 1 night after. Staff was all incredibly friendly and helpful, answering our many questions and booking a jet boating tour for us. Bag storage available in a locked shed for the night we were away. The hostel has two buildings - one for the dorms and one for the private rooms. We stayed in the large double ensuite. Simple and clean room with a comfortable bed. Sound travels easily between rooms so can be a bit disruptive if you have loud neighbors. Several different common areas for cooking, watching tvs/dvds (wide selection for rent) or using their computers. Location is convenient - less than 5 minute walk from the main part of town and really no more than a 10-15 minute walk to anywhere in town.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

We were there for 4 nights (before and after the Routeburn track). The place have great location 2 minutes walking from the supermarket and 5 from the mail st. The staff was helpfull and nice and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had double room with shared bath that was clean and nice to use. The kitchen was OK but had everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a double ensuite, simple, clean & very quiet - staff super helpful & friendly

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Lodge Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.