We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpacker in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bumbles Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Bumbles Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumbles Backpackers
Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Best backpacker in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great place, clever designated, very clean a well equipped, perfect location near to town centre, friendly staff, BBQ for free, excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
30
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary,AB
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm at Bumbles for longer than we had anticipated, but we enjoyed it very much. Everything was clean and the kitchen was pretty well equipped. The location was great, lake views and a little bit outside the town center so it was quiet.

Pros - Good comfortable beds, spacious dorms. We didn't feel cramped even in a 6 bed dorm.
- Kitchen seemed small, but there was plenty of room and it was well equipped.
- Front desk was helpful in booking all of our activities and we got 30 minutes of free internet per activities booked.
- Location was quiet, a decent walk to a grocery store but downtown is so loud even very late.

Cons - Fridges in the kitchen were always stuffed, we always were fighting for room. They could stand to upgrade them.
- The lounge area and kitchen are side by side, so watching a movie is often impossible if people are in the kitchen.
- Internet is expensive if you don't book any activities.

We enjoyed it here, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at bumbles for 4 nights (in two different twin rooms due to extending our stay).

overlooking the lake but close enough to the main street for all the shops etc.

Clean, comfortable, good nights sleep - we got a deal with our booking for a Milford sound day trip which was fantastic.

Kitchen/lounge and laundry all excellent. Staff were friendly.

MUST TRY - Ferg Burger and fudge from The Remarkables sweet shop!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montrose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Comfortable rooms, good communal areas and excellent rates. The staff are very friendly and helpful and if you book activities through them you get free internet! Recommend.

Room Tip: try and get room 7 if you want a twin or double, two single beds can be pushed together! next to toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice little walk from the town centre, but not too far, very polite and friendly staff, helped me with some activities that I wanted to do whilst staying there, the room had a small balcony that overlooked the lake, the room was nice enough, small kitchen and basic shower room/toilet area. I would stay here again, even if it was a dump (which it wasn't), just for the view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The staff was friendly and nice.. Nice room and clean bathroom. But, a bit hard to get car park if drive there. Affordable and reasonable price for double room..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We chose this hostel because the offered price for a private room was one of the cheapest in central Queenstown. However, it was more expensive than in other places, where we stayed in New Zealand. Location of the hostel was perfect, just across the road from the lake, about 10 minutes walk from the city center and bus station. A good choice for young people and budget travelers. We booked a twin room. Some inconvenience was due to the fact that the entrance to this room was through large dormitory. Shower and toilet were shared. For those wishing to stay should also be borne in mind that the hours of the reception - are not round the clock. As well as communal kitchen, that is also closed at night. We didn`t paid attention on that fact at first and have been left without breakfast which we had left in fridge in the previous night and planned to consume early in the morning before a long trip to Milford Sound. There are on offer a great selection of excursions and other types of activities, which can be booked through reception. However, we did not use their services, since had planned all our activities in advance.
In general, stay in the hostel made a good impression, however, the price, in my opinion, was somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bumbles Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbles Backpackers

Address: Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Queenstown with spectacular views, a waterfront location and free Wi-Fi, this is it! Just a 2 minute stroll to downtown, we are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! "This popular hostel is colourfully decorated. Its prime lakefront location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the best of Queenstown. It's an easy going spot, with a quieter more laid back vibe compared to other larger hostels around town." Lonely Planet 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bumbles Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumbles Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.