We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view & comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bumbles Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bumbles Backpackers to your Saves list
Bumbles Backpackers
Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful view & comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at bumbles for 4 nights (in two different twin rooms due to extending our stay).

overlooking the lake but close enough to the main street for all the shops etc.

Clean, comfortable, good nights sleep - we got a deal with our booking for a Milford sound day trip which was fantastic.

Kitchen/lounge and laundry all excellent. Staff were friendly.

MUST TRY - Ferg Burger and fudge from The Remarkables sweet shop!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    40
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
36
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
montrose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Comfortable rooms, good communal areas and excellent rates. The staff are very friendly and helpful and if you book activities through them you get free internet! Recommend.

Room Tip: try and get room 7 if you want a twin or double, two single beds can be pushed together! next to toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice little walk from the town centre, but not too far, very polite and friendly staff, helped me with some activities that I wanted to do whilst staying there, the room had a small balcony that overlooked the lake, the room was nice enough, small kitchen and basic shower room/toilet area. I would stay here again, even if it was a dump (which it wasn't), just for the view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The staff was friendly and nice.. Nice room and clean bathroom. But, a bit hard to get car park if drive there. Affordable and reasonable price for double room..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We chose this hostel because the offered price for a private room was one of the cheapest in central Queenstown. However, it was more expensive than in other places, where we stayed in New Zealand. Location of the hostel was perfect, just across the road from the lake, about 10 minutes walk from the city center and bus station. A good choice for young people and budget travelers. We booked a twin room. Some inconvenience was due to the fact that the entrance to this room was through large dormitory. Shower and toilet were shared. For those wishing to stay should also be borne in mind that the hours of the reception - are not round the clock. As well as communal kitchen, that is also closed at night. We didn`t paid attention on that fact at first and have been left without breakfast which we had left in fridge in the previous night and planned to consume early in the morning before a long trip to Milford Sound. There are on offer a great selection of excursions and other types of activities, which can be booked through reception. However, we did not use their services, since had planned all our activities in advance.
In general, stay in the hostel made a good impression, however, the price, in my opinion, was somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The staff was friendly and pointed me in the right direction to a dentist a couple doors down. I loved the location!! The bed was comfortable. And for my first night in NZ, it was awesome. Parking was tight, but most backpackers don't have cars. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here twice when visiting Queenstown for 4 nights and then 3 nights. It's a great little place, loads of character and friendly staff. The view from some of the rooms is amazing. The place has a friendly feel and it's smaller than many of the hostels in Queenstown. The kitchen is always really clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. It's close enough to party (less than 5 mins walk to Base where many of my friends were staying) but quiet enough to sleep when you want to! Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 7 had great views and fewer people per bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumbles Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbles Backpackers

Address: Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Queenstown with spectacular views, a waterfront location and free Wi-Fi, this is it! Just a 2 minute stroll to downtown, we are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! "This popular hostel is colourfully decorated. Its prime lakefront location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the best of Queenstown. It's an easy going spot, with a quieter more laid back vibe compared to other larger hostels around town." Lonely Planet 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bumbles Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumbles Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.