We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway on Q

Segway on Q
Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
0800 734 386
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a unique new sensation that’s fantastic fun! Segway tours are a great way to see the town and have some fun along the way.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We all enjoyed trying out the Segways. We started by training in a gravel car park and were a bit nervous because people on bikes came racing down and a four wheel drive drove up. We got used to the Segways quickly and the balance and movements felt natural. We had to cross a busy road and follow a path into a busy part of town by the lake (past the Minus 5 Ice Bar). We rode where there were lots of people, which I didn't think was a good idea when we were beginners with minimal control. We also had to wait for people to move out of our way. I would have prefered a scenic path by the lake without many people. But the Segways were awesome and our instructor was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    15
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Within five minutes, even my very nervous wife was riding like a pro. Incredibly intuitive and un to ride, you won't be disappointed with your ride on a Segway.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Segways are fun to ride, but it is a bad location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The Segways are very fun to ride on, but you are expected to ride them in a dangerous location. You start in a sloping, gravel car park that has bikes and 4WDs driving through it, and you have to learn there. After that, you have to ride down a steep, gravel road, to a dangerous road which you have to cross, on the segways. Afterwards you have to ride through the very crowded waterfront. You are also pressured to ride fast. Overall it's a bad location for beginner Segway-riders, but the actual segways are really fun to ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayMan, Owner at Segway on Q, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Queenstown in the New Year period is a very buzzing place. The town is alive with a great influx of visitors and locals get out and enjoy it too. Whether it is attending the markets or getting out on a mountain bike it seems like everybody is doing something outside. Our tours have been happily coexisting with these activities since 2006.

Due to the busyness of the town around the New Year, the gondola closes to mountain bikers for gondola access to their downhill trails for about 2 weeks. Some of these riders are deflected to a trail which finishes near our training area. Consequently, you get a few shuttles coming in to collect riders and their bikes. There is no through road here though and we work together with QT Mountain Bike Taxis to ensure we can both happily go about our business. The gondola reopened for mountain bikers on 7th January and the volume of riders we saw over the New Year period has already dropped right away.

The statement about going down a steep gravel road is simply not true. It is a sloping road but definitely not steep. We find the gentle slope of the training area good practice for getting out on the variety of terrains we cover in our tours. Our operating procedures ensure your initial training can be done safely by giving you one-on-one tuition until you show competence to practice on your own, under our supervision. We have another procedure for crossing the road, so there is little reason for concern as we only call riders across when we are certain it is safe for them to do so.

The Segway has a speed limiter. We start our tours at a beginners setting which we gradually increase as riders confidence increases and we get to more open areas suitable for faster speeds. We like to keep our groups together but you shouldn't have felt any pressure about going faster than you were comfortable with.

It’s obvious that there were no incidents on this tour as I’m sure the reviewer would have mentioned that. So despite all the peak season challenges, I believe our team did a good job to ensure safe riding and navigation of the town.

I find this review inconsistent with any of the other 141 reviews we have received which commonly state that training was a breeze and the area they covered and sights they saw was fabulous. One thing that everyone does seem to agree on though is that ‘Segways are really fun to ride’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked the one hour Segway tour and loved every minute of it! We were surprised how quickly we got used to the segways. We enjoyed the tour of Queenstown, especially the gardens and the lakefront. Our guide Ben was a good instructor and told us interesting facts about the local area. At the end of the tour we were allowed to try a higher speed setting, which was great fun! Would definitely recommend!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent
Really enjoyable hour. Lucas was very friendly, and made it a very enjoyable experience.

Equipment was in good condition, and very simple to get a hang of.

A must do in Queenstown!

The MRS said:
Awesome. Absolutely awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway on Q also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Segway on Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway on Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.