We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best activity we did” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Challenge Rafting

Challenge Rafting
The Station Building | Cnr Shotover and Camp Streets, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
+6434427318
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Challenge Rafting operates exciting half-day trips on the Shotover and Kawarau Rivers in Queenstown. The Kawarau River is suited to first time rafters or those wanting a taste of rafting and is accessed by vehicle. The Shotover River is accessed by vehicle through the historic Skippers Canyon forged out by goldminers during the big Gold Rush. This road is inaccessible in winter and for this reason Heli-rafting is offered in winter on the Shotover River.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best activity we did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went on the shotover river and it was so much fun. Unfortunately before we got to queenstown there had been flooding and so there were parts of the river which were too dangerous to raft so we had to walk around them. The guides were funny, friendly and made us feel safe. Next time I'm in Queenstown i will definitely do it again so i can experience the entire river.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your trip down the Shotover River. The recent flooding sure did cause some interesting changes in the river. Mother Nature seems to like keeping us on our toes so far in 2013. Walking around rapids is an extremely rare occurrence, so we appreciate your patience with the amended trip. Happily, since your trip, the guides have blasted some of the rocks at the rapid you walked around, so operations are back to normal and we are rafting the entire river again! Definitely come see the Challenge Rafting Team in the Station Building next time you are in Queenstown.
From the Team at Challenge Rafting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

November must be the month. Lots of water - grade 4 rapids -not for the faint hearted but a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi there Gary !
Thanks for your "Awesome" Review
We’re super happy you enjoyed your trip with Challenge Rafting,
You’re right it is big out there at the moment; you picked a great time to try it!
Hopefully see you in Queenstown again sometime!
From the Challenge Rafting Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The experience of NZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The rafting as an activity was fabulous..
The river rapids were superb for beginners like us..
the place was extremely serene & breathtakingly beautiful..water was crystal clear!!
The only thing I want them to change is the way they take & price at which they sell photographs!! our's was just not clear because we were sitting at the rear end of the air-boat..even for the ones who were clearly captured, it was way too expensive..
they sell experience, the least they can do is to make the memory of it a little affordable!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
“ Thank you Rusty "
We are very glad you enjoyed your experience with Challenge Rafting. It certainly is a special part of the world ! We appreciate your feedback, it’s always great to hear your thoughts and suggestions.
We hope to see you again sometime !
From the Team at Challenge Rafting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great rafting experience, forget about the photos and DVD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Trip out to the start the start of the Shotover rafting was a little hair raising (especially on a wet day). The staff and guides were excellent (KC was fantastic and very experienced all over the world). The rapids were good and exciting (must have at least a grade 3-4 rapids so check before) and we felt very safe at all times.
Most disappointing part was the missed opportunity to have a great DVD produced of our experience. The one we got was pathetic showing only the arrival at the start of the rafting. The rest of the DVD was purely promotional. So don't get the DVD. Also be careful with photos, probably the best would be to get the single photo of the group.
Would absolutely recommend doing the rafting but forget the photos and DVD.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitrePeakCruises, Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and we’re glad you enjoyed your rafting trip down the mighty Shotover River. We are very disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the photo and DVD offering. It would benefit us immensely if you could get in touch with us in more detail – feedback is key to allow us to ensure we reach our guests expectations for every aspect of the Rafting trip – please contact us on business@totallytourism.co.nz
Thank You”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not use Challenge Rafting services.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

You'll not get what you paid for. We paid for 4-5 grade rafting and it was only garade 2 because of low water level. It was boring 2 hours of sitting in a raft and doing nothing. We weren't warned about it and they didn't give us any discount. So Challenge Rafting company is terrible money miner company - DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICES.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Challenge Rafting also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Challenge Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Challenge Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.