We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Will definately recommend to anyone who has a rental car.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent. Will definately recommend to anyone who has a rental car.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

First day when we arrive. Our flight arrived in the morning so our room was not ready until 3pm. When we arrived staff is very helpful. Checked us in right away and looked after our luggage. We took a leisurely walk along the lake to central Queenstown. Took us about 30 mins. Lovely scenery. After a stroll and lunch we decided to take the bus back. The bus is not the easiest to catch and by the time we pay for fare for 3 people. I recommend catching a taxi which is only NZD12. I still think a car is required a stay at Rees.

We were very impressed with the 2 bedroom apartment we have when the room became ready. Spectacular views of the lake and mountains. Furniture and fittings of the apartment is of very high standard and contemporary. Daily room service is a plus also. Some apartments stay in New Zealand do not have daily room servicing.

We stayed a total of 4 nights and had to move to a hotel in town because the Rees was fully booked fr the next 4 nights we were in Queenstown. All three of us definately missed the Rees when we were staying the hotel downtown.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    203
    56
    18
    9
See reviews for
205
526
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The units at The Rees are wonderfully appointed with modern appliances, heated floors, gas fire places and good quality kitchen utensils. We found that as a family we were very happy to 'eat in' at our 2 bed apartment as the kitchen was very usable and the unit provided ample room for our family of 2 A & 2 teenagers.

Being new to NZ travelling I found it unusual to have the open walkways outside the rooms. So in order ot get to reception needed an outside walk in the -2 degree weather.
Given that we were in Queenstown for skiing it wasn't a major concern more a headss-up for fellow travellers.

Staff and check-in were very helpful. I rang often with unusual questions on how to use the various appliances and room features. ie heaters, gas fireplace. Each time the staff new how it worked.

The daily housekeeping was a little variable. Always the beds were made. One day they forgot to leave fresh towels. Another day they interrupted the dishwasher cycle (and didn't restart it). Another day they missed the room completely.

Two observations about the main bedroom. The safe is located on the top level shelf in the cupboard. I stand at 186cm tall and I couldn't see totally into the safe. My (shorter) wife couldn't access the safe at all. The second observation was that there is no mirror in the bedroom. No problems except when the teenagers are hogging the bathroom which had a heated mirror and heated floor tiles.

Each room has broadband cable for laptop. There is free browsing available of a limited number of websites. Most importantly we could free browse nzski.com which provides the local ski facilities. We didn't need to actually pay for internet each day. The Internet plan when we did buy it is $5 for a continuous hour. ie access for 10 minutes at 7am and the time expires at 8am. No major issue as this is made obvious when purchasing the access. (Our next hotel in NZ was $6 for an hour, timed only when logged on.)

I would be very happy to stay at The Rees again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in a 3-BR lakeview apartment, and could not fault the hotel - superb location with great views over Lake Wakatipu, well appointed rooms, a functional kitchen (which came in very handy with young kids), and very good service from the helpful staff. The food at the in-house restaurant was also top quality, showcasing local produce. Perhaps a little overpriced and free WiFi would have come in handy, but we would not hesitate in returning to The Rees.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Rees Hotel in early July 2010 for a ski holiday, I chose this hotel based on reading up on a lot of hotels in Queenstown on this website and the positive reviews given to the Rees Hotel.

I'll start with its location: The Rees Hotel is located about 5 minute drive from Queenstown city centre, you can either take a bus in to town ($NZ4) from the bus stop located about 50metres walk from the hotel, the buses run on half hour intervals up to about 9:30pm or you can catch a taxi. Taxi trip averaged about $12 and they very easy to book, the longest wait is about 10minutes in peak period.

While some may be turned off by this I saw it as an advantage, the hotel is located right along the lake opposite the Remarkables and would have one of the best views in all of Queenstown. A lot of regular chain hotels are located in the city centre and their views are less than desirable in comparison to the views at the Rees Hotel.

The room: From the moment we walked in absolutely happy with the choice we made with the Rees Hotel. Modern room with plenty of space, heated tiles, flat screen TV, king size bed, balcony, comfortable lounge and a spa bath. I must say too the TV channels available was quite a surprise too, about 30 channels to choose from which is nothing I have encountered before in comparison to other hotels. There just seems to be a lot of attention to details for the little things.

If there is one complaint I have about the room it's only the amount of coat hangers available; six coat hangers for a ski holiday over 9 days for two people. Petty complaint which shows how well everything else was covered.

Service: The service was exceptional, the staff were pretty switched on and although we had little interaction with most staff due to being so busy doing other activities, all encounters were friendly and any requests we made were down without hassle.

I was amazed at the service received by staff at the restaurant too, very quick and just went the extra mile. You don't even receive that sort of service in 5 star restaurants in Australia.

The only one complaint was even though our room was serviced everyday except when requested not too, our bin was not emptied for three days. I still gave the Rees a five star rating for service as everything else definately outshun this minor incident.

I'm very fussy about having the best accomodation value for money and I have to say staying at the Rees was the best decision, speaking to other persons in Queenstown and exploring the town itself the Rees is the best hotel in Queenstown.

When we return we'll be staying there again and I'd recommend it to anyone else visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hello Steve, (Concierge- "The Rees")
My wife Karen and myself stayed at "The Rees" early May for one week to
celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary,as you know we were in one of
your beautiful 1 bedroom apartments.I would like to personally thank you
for making our stay one of the most memorable weeks we have had. Your
local knowledge was of great help, with all your suggestions of things
to do,places to see, and restaurants to dine exceptional with "The
Ree's" staff always helpful and friendly, we will defiantly be back. We
love Queenstown it is a place of exceptional natural beauty a vibrant
culture,and for us Aussies who live in the sub tropics the beautiful
cool weather was a breath of fresh air. Thanks again Steve hope to see
you again soon.

Kind regards Dean and Karen Stjernqvist
Noosa Heads
Queensland
Australia

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Rees is a high-end hotel with a gorgeous perch right on the lake about a 5 minute taxi ride from the center of town. We liked our lakefront view room with a nice large couch, small balcony, and as the name indicates, a beautiful view. You can walk to town along the lake or road in about 20 minutes. We really enjoyed the lakeside stroll and felt pleasantly removed from the town (but close enough to see and do everything).

A few warnings. First, to get to our room, we had to take an elevator down, walk through the car park and then either take another elevator or walk down a flight of stairs. For that reason, I would recommend requesting a room on one of the higher floors. Second, there was no wireless in the room, only the lobby, which happens to be very handsome. There is an internet cable by the TV, which is on a credenza/dresser. The problem is that the cable doesn't extend very far, and there is no where to put your laptop and sit comfortably. Not very well thought out. Third, our room was wheelchair accessible (in itself a very good thing) but the shower was not sealed off from the rest of the bathroom, so the floor got very wet when taking a shower.

Overall, I liked the hotel a lot but am not sure it is the best value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Excellent furnished apartments! most awesome view. The view is crazy at night from the balcony

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.