We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A fabulous hotel in a great location with unforgettable views and with attentive, professional service from the very friendly staff. Very comfortable accommodation with everything one could require - a comforting home away from home. Thank you from Joan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    689
    207
    57
    19
    9
See reviews for
214
543
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The apartments as always were in stunning condition, the service we received at the front desk was second to none. A special thanks to Roman for his smile, warm friendly attitude - a real treasure for the team.
We were again recommended to visit Sasso and Eirchardt's for dinner and or lunch and we were not disappointed.
Thanks for the hassle free visit, we will visit again soon

Room Tip: Executive Level 2 and 3 beds - 2 bed has full kitchen. The rooms to the end closest to the airport a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Rees for three nights from October 12th through the 14th in a one bedroom Apartment on the 3rd level. We still talk about the views of The Remarkable Mountains. Nice features included the gas fireplace and the heated kitchen and bathroom floors. Fireplace was great on a windy rainy night. The one bedroom is a lot of space for a couple. Kitchen is very large and fully equipped. All the staff were fantastic. We used the Concierge to schedule activities and get hair dresser recommendations. The staff helped us with pictures,. The location was perfect and the shuttle service to downtown Queenstown was very useful. Nice to park the car for three days. Food in the "New South" restaurant was great,
You do have to walk outside to get from the lobby/restaurant to the 3rd level overlooking the lake. Drive to the parking area was narrow and steep.

Room Tip: The views from the 3rd level (Room 3111) were fantastic. possible that Level would even be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We regularly stay in Queenstown and The Rees is the best experience we have had! Our recent three night stay ticked every box with what is important to us.... free WIFI, easy access and easy to find, free parking, warm friendly reception and porterage to room, huge suite with lake view (very comfortable), bath and shower, every hotel amenity but boutique hotel feel, great wine bar and restaurant. What more do you need? Oh, how about regular shuttles to town so you don't have to stress about parking or drinking? Yes they do that too and offered with a smile and charming driver. Room service staff lovely and unobtrusive. And prices very reasonable for what is provided - value is subjective but I would rate The Rees as very good value for the quality and service.
And the quiet.... no roaring drunks outside our room or screaming down the street. In fact the only other people we saw were smiling guests and staff who actually looked us in the eye and greeted us. We felt so welcome and comfortable there is no doubt The Rees will be our preferred accommodation in Queenstown forever! Keep up the good work The Rees, you should be proud of what you do. We will be personally recommending you to everyone... thanks! We'll be back....

Room Tip: We had a lakeview room but didn't use the balcony so don't worry if you can only get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were welcomed by friendly and attentive staff in a cleverly planned and interesting decor.
The apartments are beautifully appointed with great attention to quality and detail. The view of the lake in uncluttered and impressive.
The wine list is legendary and the menus show a passion for food. Each dish has been meticulously thought out with clever use of interesting ingredients.
A little away from the centre of town to walk but a complimentary shuttle each way on the hour compensates. Indoor parking available.
A must.

Room Tip: Looks like every room has a view. Different apartment sizes to meet individual requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Rees Queenstown and thought the accommodation and attention to detail were both excellent. The view across Lake Wakatipu from our balcony was breathtaking and something we will never forget.
All the staff that we encountered at The Rees were helpful and efficient. We had no problems at all with the services provided and made good use of the regular downtown shuttle service.
We enjoyed our dinner in the Hotel dining room – a delicious fine dining experience – as well as a great breakfast each morning.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved our 3 b/r apartment with 2 bathrooms, 3 toilets, heated flooring, gas heater in lounge room, 2 balconies, lovely plunger coffee, free wi fi, and very comfortable beds. The dining room for breakfast was fantastic value, the dining room for dinner (True South) was ok though not as special as we'd hoped. The reception service was hit & miss. Duty manager Mo was very efficient and friendly, though other staff were vague, unfriendly and one was yawning her head off as I walked towards her. The concierge did not greet us, smile or offer anything. She just sat there staring at her computer. The lack of quality bar is disappointing (the so called bar is a few lounge chairs in the lobby). On our next visit to Queenstown (which is such a beautiful fun place) we will stay in the town centre and possibly consider somewhere central like the Sofitel, which from all accounts offers much better service, with local bars & restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view, otherwise don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.