We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Warm Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently visited Queenstown in New Zealand for a 'father and son' week of adrenalin fueled activities including skiing, paintball, bungy jumping and more.

We stayed at 'The Rees' a 2 minute drive from Queenstown central. We took the serviced apartment option and got 2 bedrooms (one queen size and one king size bed), a living room, dining table, laundry, kitchen with all the kit, lounge area with TV, iPod music speakers and a fireplace.

The apartment was spacious, very clean (cleaned every day), warm and dry, important after a day on the icy cold slopes (and being shot by your child in competitive paintball situations).

Bathrooms were immaculate, the water pressure in the shower superb and the hot water seemingly endless. No bath in our apartment but each of the 2 bathrooms had a towel heater rack - nice.

High quality bathrobes were provided, clean towels are available every day if needed and the beds were made each afternoon. The bed linen was crisp, clean and white and there were plenty of blankets available.

The front counter staff were helpful and courteous, although the breakfast room team were not quite up to the mark. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant but did try the breakfast options a few times. The buffet was ok, the hot ordered breakfast patchy - good one day, average the next. So after a couple of days we just ate out in Queenstown - see my review of Captains.

There is a nice bar with large fireplace you can get a late night drink and look out across the lake to the snow covered mountains... really nice way to finish off the day.

Overall, a really great serviced apartment option.

4 out of 5 fluffy robes.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room when setting your reservation so you have an amazing view of the snow capp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    203
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
211
533
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I spent days (literally) researching to find the cutest / best priced / perfectly located accommodation for our 2 week trip across NZ... (It was a really tough choice in Queenstown as there are so many to choose from!) But it all paid of when we walked in to our room at the Rees...

It was *DIVINE*! We stayed in an "Executive Lake View Room with spa" and lucked out to get a 7th floor corner room. Floor to ceiling glass walls gave us the most incredible view of the Remarkables! The decor is modern and luxurious, and the bed is incredibly comfy! The spacious room even has a little balcony to enjoy while you play music on your iPod docking speakers. The mini bar is stocked with good coffee (for free!) if you don't get enough during the incredible breakfast. They also offer a washer and dryer for guests to do their only laundry... for free! (What a classy touch!!)

There is a courtesy bus that runs regularly making it easy to get to town (only a 5 min drive) and avoid the hassle of parking. It rained 3 of the 4 days we were in Queenstown, but we almost didn't mind because our room was just so lovely...

Highly recommend! You won't find anything better for this price! Almost feels like a steal compared to others in the area :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 701.1... 7th floor corner room with an incredible view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Love the Rees. Stayed here twice now while visiting Queenstown. It's recently built so everything is brand new. The view from the lake view room is amazing, we stayed on the top levels so the view of Lake Wakapitu is lovely. The rooms are outfitted nicely, with heated floors and towel racks. All the comforts of home. Needs a pool and a spa though!!!

Room Tip: Lake view room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Rees for 10 days during July 2013. We had a 1 bedroom luxury apartment with a lake view and it certainly delivered to all of our expectations. There are a number of hotels/apartments on the Frankton Road which takes you into Queenstown but make sure if you want a lake view that you stay at a place that is on the lake side of the road otherwise you will only get glimpses of the lake and you may have to deal with traffic noise. The apartments are really well fitted out with excellent cooking facilities, heated floors in the kitchen and bathroom.

Room Tip: Previously mentioned if you want a lake view make sure you are getting exactly what you expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We eloped to New Zealand to get married in Queenstown, and were fortunate enough to be recommended The Rees. Its now very hard to book holidays as The Rees has become the new standard that we are looking for. We stayed in a 1 Bed self contained apartment for 7 days in ski season, and ate at the hotel restaurant some breakfasts and dinners. The food is sensational, and they have a killer wine menu. The hotel is a 20 minute walk (mostly flat) into the heart of Queenstown, along the stunning waters edge of the lake (or a $10 taxi), but there is also a courtesy bus that runs regularly. The service we received was exceptional. The room had a gas fire, bedroom and lounge that overlooked the lake, a fully stocked kitchen and laundry, and underfloor heating in the bathroom - a real pleasure to frozen ski toes.I travel a lot, however since staying at The Rees, I just want to go back to the same place - time and time again. You will love it - don't doubt anything about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake front apartment - this is one hotel where you want to be as low down as possible so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff at this hotel were amazing and the views were even better.
The hotel is a little bit out of town maybe a 25 minute walk but if you are after some spectacular views and a quieter time this hotel is perfect.
The free shuttle in and out of town made it no drama to come home after a few drinks after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in a Executive Lake View Apartment for our honeymoon, as a 5 night package deal through Harvey Norman World Travel - it was perfect. We have stayed in many hotels and apartments, this was by far the most outstanding.

The view was stunning, the apartment was beautifully modern and clean. Opting for the gas fireplace was a great choice as we stayed in early spring, at the end of ski season. The appartment even had a heated floor in the bathroom. The restaurant was lovely with a fantastic view and food delicious.

All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful - particularly Chuck (concierge) who helped us organise many fun activities during our stay.

The Rees is not right in town, so you cannot walk to town. However The Rees do offer a complementary shuttle bus for which runs to a set regular timetable. Although, we seemed to always need transport to and from at times which didn't fit the shuttle timetable! We paid for many taxi trips, however it is not a long trip via car into town (around 5 minutes) and the taxis are very fast to arrive - reception staff are always happy to order a taxi. We purposely choose a hotel outside of town, as being on our honeymoon we were looking for seclusion and peace and quiet and planned on being out and about on activities rather than spending everyday in town. It was just what we wanted!

One other story I will mention - after checking out of our fantastic apartment, we waited for a very long time at the airport for a delayed flight which was then cancelled due to weather. By this time it was getting dark, raining, and all the passengers were hungry, tired and cranky and everyone just wanted to get home to their families/kids/pets. We were told by the airline to go and find accommodation for the night and everyone would be allotted new connecting flights or bus trips/flights over the next couple of days. Needless to say, it wasn't a pleasant experience.
We called the Rees and explained the situation. By the time we had arrived back at the hotel (10 minutes) they had organised a room for us for the night. We ordered some room service at reception and it arrived to our room in less than 10 minutes - fresh hot food! We had lovely hot showers and rugged up in the nice Rees bathrobes. The Rees staff were more than accommodating and even wrote a letter for us to send to our travel insurance company if we wanted to claim for the extra night due to the flight cancellation.

If we ever get to return to Queenstown NZ, we would certainly be staying at The Rees.

P.S. Queenstown itself is absolutely beautiful with lots of fun things to do, including skiing (check for ski season). Great honeymoon destination if you are looking for something different to 'sun and sand'!

Room Tip: If staying in winter or early spring, the rooms/apartments with gas fire places are very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.