We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Quality of all staff and accommodation..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Quality of all staff and accommodation..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After having returned from a wonderful vacation in Queenstown NZ I felt the need to let others know having stayed at the Rees Hotel the entire time, could not have been a more enjoyable relaxing experience. Whoever hires the staff at the Rees Hotel needs to be complimented on their choice of staff, they were exceptional from the front desk to the cleaning staff. The staff were always so polite, informative and totally unobtrusive. The restaurant meals were up there with the best, creative and totally delicious.The rooms and services in the executive apartment were everything we could have wished for with top quality fixtures and fittings with more than adequate supplies. The shuttle bus service staff were absolutely fantastic and when we left it had been such an enjoyable experience it felt as though we were leaving friends. I can highly recommend the Rees Hotel to anyone contemplating staying there and can't wait for my next visit to Queenstown and staying at the Rees Hotel.

Room Tip: An executive apartment on the sixth floor gave a beautiful view, was large and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    203
    56
    18
    9
See reviews for
203
526
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamuning, Guam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

You can't beat the view from this hotel, it's truly beautiful. However, the Staff always felt that they were being troubled by just doing their job (checking you in, etc). The hotel is not in town, it's about a 30 min walk or a 5 min shuttle which they provide complimentary. The room was very spacious and it had a fire place. If you are ok with dealing with people giving you attitude while on vacation for a service you're paying for, to enjoy their view, then this hotel is for you. The gym is nice, has enough stuff to get an ok work out and you can always run outside on the lake trail.
There was one person that stood away, she was the only one who provided us with outstanding service: the travel agent in the lobby. Our pre arranged (by our travel agent) fly/cruise/fly tour to the milford sound got cancelled due to weather and she was able to give us great ideas on how to spend our day in town while the weather was bad. She got us a nice tour of the city.

Room Tip: You wanna get a lake view, preferably with a balcony and in the middle so you have a view of all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to New Zealand for a month travelling through the North and South Islands; it is indeed a very beautiful country and we loved it, and found New Zealanders very friendly and welcoming. We stayed at variety of places on our way down south, one of which was the Rees Hotel in Queenstown, or rather outside Queenstown, which is a lovely city, in the South.
Initially, we were very impressed with the Rees, and the Russian duty manager was friendly, efficient and cheerful; just what one expects in a 5 Star hotel.
We had booked, prior to departure, to stay for just a couple of days at the end of our stay in the South Island, intending to go back to Auckland for a couple of days before we flew home, to Singapore, where we are currently living. However, because we were enjoying the South Island so much we decided to extend our stay at Rees, rang up to do so and after a strange encounter with Nelson, on the Front Desk, eventually managed to do so.
We had 'done' the Tongariro Crossing to an active volcano, and the beautiful Abel Tasman walk along the coast in the North Island, but had also arranged to hike the Routeburn trek, which is more demanding, in the South Island.
We had an Executive Lake View room, which was quite nice, but smaller than we expected, so we upgraded to an Executive Lake View Suite. This was lovely, and we arranged that the rest of our stay at the Rees, before and after we did the Routeburn Track, would be in this Suite.
In the meantime we enjoyed the room, the view and Wellington, which we also really enjoyed, but decided to go to the hotel restaurant for a final dinner, the night before attempting the Routeburn.
It is a very small restaurant, and with two other tables occupied, and with the kitchen effectively part of the restaurant, it seemed full We were enjoying the food, and the service was good, until, at 9.15, our waitress came to say good night as she was leaving, the other guests left and the kitchen started to pack up very noisily, and our replacement waiter was fully engrossed packing up to leave.
As a result we were simply ignored and I had to leave our table to retrieve our wine from near the serving hatch, and pour it myself, this was clearly obvious to the staff but we were still ignored.
I protested to the waiter, and to the chef, who was still busily, and noisily packing his pots and pans away, telling them that a 5 star hotel restaurant ought not to be acting like this. The chef, who was from the UK, told me it was time for him to go home. We hadn't even finished our second course, and had intended having a pudding. Needless to say, we aborted that idea.
The duty manager then appeared, summoned by the waiter, apologised and told us we wouldn't have to pay for certain items on our bill, but this was no consolation.
In all our travels around the world, this was the first time anything like this had ever happened, and, for a so-called 5 star hotel; it was downright shameful.
The next morning breakfast was very good, and we left to hike the Routeburn, in the Southern Alps, which was a fantastic experience; they really look after their countryside in NZ, with the mountain huts by far the best we have stayed in, including the Swiss Alps, where we have hiked extensively.
We returned to the Rees Hotel, dirty, tired, sweaty and very much needing a shower and some food. We got to the front desk and were asked very tartly, as though we were a couple of tramps who had strayed into a posh hotel, if they could help us. I told them that we had a suite booked there and he, to his credit, started to search for our names, but his efforts were fruitless as they had not extended our booking.
In short they didn't have a room for us, as one of the Front Desk staff, had cancelled our room, and given it to someone else. We then had a very uncomfortable 3 hour wait for them to sort out a room for us. However, they did supply a free, weak gin and tonic and a glass of white wine while we waited.
The duty manager, Roman, then did his level best to rectify the situation, but showed us a room that looked and felt like we were in a prison and we refused to stay in it. He found us another room, which was a little better and said we could have our proper room the next day. It was truly, very shabby treatment of guests, at this alleged 5 star hotel.
No one phoned us the next day about changing rooms, so we just decided to stay where we were, do all our laundry and prepare for our trip back to Singapore.
When we checked out the Russian duty manager said she was sorry that we had had such a poor stay, but we were not entirely sure how genuine that was. Our stay at the Rees was punctuated by uncertainties, and terrrible treatment. However, one thing is absolutely certain, we plan to return to NZ, because we loved it, but we most certainly will not be staying at the Rees Hotel, outside Queenstown.

Room Tip: If you don't or cannot stay at a suite, then don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the best place we stayed in New Zealand for our honeymoon! My husband and I were in an Executive Lakeview 1 Bedroom Apartment for 3 nights. Everything was great! The bed was comfy, the bathroom was amazing; jetted tub, rain shower, towel warmer. The balcony was huge, the living area and kitchen were spacious and everything was very clean. Even had our own laundry which is very convenient for people on long trips like we were :)
Location is good, wonderful views of the lake and mountains. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to downtown you just have to reserve a spot ahead of time. We used it quite a few times. They also offer a water taxi for a small fare. Both were very convenient for us since we didn't have a vehicle.
We had the continental breakfast in the restaurant twice and room service once. The room service was good but its worth it to go to the restaurant for the buffet. The hotel restaurant, True South, is small but intimate. Very good service from the staff and the food is excellent. We had a dinner reservation one night and our meal was one of the best we had in New Zealand. The best part for us was that our apartment was a short walk down the hall.
Overall the service was excellent from everyone we came across, very friendly staff and always eager to help. Highly recommend staying here and we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I live in Auckland and stayed at the Rees for 3-nights recently during my Mums visit from the UK. The staff and service couldn't have been better - the manager Tom was particularly welcoming. The only think I would have liked is a fimer mattress as we both found the beds quite soft - that being said the lake view and overall general ambience and level of care made up for this. The restaurant is definitely worth a visit too. Thank you Tom and team - we had a great stay. Mairead and Zena

Room Tip: a lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have just spent 5 nights at Rees for our daughter's wedding in Queenstown. Our choice of accommodation could not have been better or as luxurious. Us and most of the members of our family were placed in apartments on the 7th floor which had the most picturesque views I have ever seen. We ourselves had an executive apartment whilst other members of our group had either executive or standard but having said that, none of the apartments are standard, anything but. I did not get to see all of our guests apartments but everyone spoken to were very, very impressed. Service is second to none and even on 2 of our days the cleaners had unpacked our dishwasher which I must say is a pet hate of mine so kudos to them, fabulous. Blinds in our lounge were never closed as privacy seems to be the hallmark of these apartments although in ours it was necessary to draw the blinds in the upstairs bathroom due to it being almost level with the driveway. Everything you could possibly need or want whilst on holiday is supplied and although due to wedding preparations we did not get to use their wonderful restaurant, we did have room service which was promptly delivered to our room and was scrummy. This is one hotel not to be booked on price but the fabulous service, apartments, hourly shuttle into town or close proximity to a lovely walk, either into town or back to Frankton. Thankyou Rees for making our daughters wedding into a fantastic holiday and you should be congratulated on not only your property but your very friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the 7th floor have not only easy access but the best views anywhere but I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Supreb Location awsum view below mountains and above lake no comparison of food and rooms. with heating floor and heaters just like appartment if driving of your own ample parking, travel desk and staff is helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.