We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I live in Auckland and stayed at the Rees for 3-nights recently during my Mums visit from the UK. The staff and service couldn't have been better - the manager Tom was particularly welcoming. The only think I would have liked is a fimer mattress as we both found the beds quite soft - that being said the lake view and overall general ambience and level of care made up for this. The restaurant is definitely worth a visit too. Thank you Tom and team - we had a great stay. Mairead and Zena

Room Tip: a lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    216
    58
    21
    9
See reviews for
231
568
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have just spent 5 nights at Rees for our daughter's wedding in Queenstown. Our choice of accommodation could not have been better or as luxurious. Us and most of the members of our family were placed in apartments on the 7th floor which had the most picturesque views I have ever seen. We ourselves had an executive apartment whilst other members of our group had either executive or standard but having said that, none of the apartments are standard, anything but. I did not get to see all of our guests apartments but everyone spoken to were very, very impressed. Service is second to none and even on 2 of our days the cleaners had unpacked our dishwasher which I must say is a pet hate of mine so kudos to them, fabulous. Blinds in our lounge were never closed as privacy seems to be the hallmark of these apartments although in ours it was necessary to draw the blinds in the upstairs bathroom due to it being almost level with the driveway. Everything you could possibly need or want whilst on holiday is supplied and although due to wedding preparations we did not get to use their wonderful restaurant, we did have room service which was promptly delivered to our room and was scrummy. This is one hotel not to be booked on price but the fabulous service, apartments, hourly shuttle into town or close proximity to a lovely walk, either into town or back to Frankton. Thankyou Rees for making our daughters wedding into a fantastic holiday and you should be congratulated on not only your property but your very friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the 7th floor have not only easy access but the best views anywhere but I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Supreb Location awsum view below mountains and above lake no comparison of food and rooms. with heating floor and heaters just like appartment if driving of your own ample parking, travel desk and staff is helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

At almost $ NZ 800 for 3 nights, our Lakeview Room view did not disappoint. The room had quality fittings although I think a little small for the tariff charged. Service was good and no complaints about cleaning or other aspects. Free parking and internet were included, but next time in Queenstown will probably try elsewhere to see what we get there for that sort of money. And was further than a comfortable walking distance from the central town area, so recommend having a vehicle. I would have thought, in shoulder season, around $ NZ 600 for 3 nights would have made it a 5 circle review. I wanted to pay for something special, but for me, did not quite measure up to expectation for those dollars.

Room Tip: Get a Lakeview Room or better. Beware rather old technology mag strip room cards - very susceptible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms are small. Our friends and I booked a 2 bed lake view apartment overlooking the lake (room 309 1). The room was very clean and bright, spotlessly clean too. For us we found the bedrooms far too small, there is nowhere to put your case other than on the floor, then you have problems walking around the bed. There are wardrobes, but sometimes when staying for only a few days you dont always want to unpack. There is no bath in this room and the shower floor when wet is very slippery. There is also only one bathroom in this apartment despite being for 4 people.
You cannot just access the spa, everything has to be booked well in advance as there are no on-site personnel.
Breakfast is good and has a good range of food with hot options cooked to order accommodating any dietary requirements, the opening hours are 6:30 - 11:00 so no need to dash out of bed. Otherwise dinner menu is good but quite expensive compared to other restaurants in town.
Housekeeping good, but were on honeymoon so would like a late day sometimes and although asked not to be disturbed before 10am, have been woken at 9am each day! Ps they warn you that if you leave your room untidy you might incur additional cleaning charges!
Staff very friendly and helpful, bus into town is very good as you are quite a way out.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had 4 nights at the Rees. Amazing views of lake and mountains. Top class staff to meet us and show us every detail of our apartment. Nothing was too much trouble. Free shuttle service on the hour most times into Queenstown and back. First class chattels great walking track. All the amenities you need. Highly recommend. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an executive room(whatever that's supposed to convey,and maybe they're all called that so who knows whether yours would be better or worse because the term is fairly meaningless) and it was very luxurious.All the mod-cons you could expect at the price.Big comfortable bed.Great bathroom with walk in shower plus a bath with jet spas.Toiletries and towels plentiful.Housekeeping happy to take care of any needs.Plenty of tea and coffee making facilities.Mini bar(expensive of course).TV with good range of channels.Room safe.All very clean.Lovely view of the lake and a small terrace to while away the hours outside the big glass windows.
Parking on site is free.WIFI is free in the room and there's a communal computer in reception with 30 mins use allowed free.There's a small gym available--but it really is small.

So what's the catch.Well none really except the outside of the hotel is a little ugly,a bit industrial,whereas the inside is really nice.Also you are out of town.There's a regular free shuttle bus you can use but it stops running about 10pm I seem to recall.A taxi is about 15 dollars.The walk is about 30 mins .
Would I stay again?Definitely because the price you should get on the internet is low for the standard of the hotel.Being out of town probably keeps the price down although since Queenstown can get a bit hectic maybe being out of town a short way is a plus to many people.Overall I reckon if you stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.