We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just returned from spending a week at The Rees and couldn't fault the accommodation or experience we had there. The only dissappointment was missing the spa bath when we had a third member join us and we moved to a 2 bedroom apartment :). If you are wanting incredible views of the Lake this is the place to stay, the rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds and pillows are incredible and the apartments were very well stocked. Although the resort is a short distance out of town the courtesy coach operated by the hotel makes travel easy to and from town. I would much prefer to stay here than right in town with the hotels having no views. The staff were so helpful and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Rees to anyone. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: A must is the Executive rooms with the spa baths (except apartments) and views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    228
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
241
605
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Rees beginning of March 2013. Clean, good location, staff helpful as all people in NewZealand. On the lake, fabulous views. Once we had the location of the lifts and the car park (which was in-between the apartments), the stay was very enjoyable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay in Queenstown happened during the middle of our honeymoon. The Rees is located in front of the Lake and offer excellent services to help you fully enjoy the town.
The room is really nice and clean, a large modern bathroom and a rather small but good bedroom. The view was fantastic and clean.
The hotel is really large and you have to go through a maze of stone and pillars to get to your room. If you decide to go to the city walking along the coast, you'll realize that there is still works in progress in The Rees.
The breakfast room is rather small and doesn't offer anything special.
We enjoyed staying there but it was not as good as any other lodge we've stayed. It's not perfect for a honeymoon when you might look for more charming and cute places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Fantastic views of the lake. Great furnishings. Award winning chef and wine menu. Free internet access. Very comfortable bed and pillows. I have stayed in Hiltons, Sheratons, Westins, Intercontinentals, Langhams, Four Seasons, and this is best hotel so far. If there is a 7-star rating, this hotel would meet it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and 90% of them have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice all stuffs around this hotel, its location is very good front of the beautiful lake. The room confort is incredible it is safe also. The shuttle service to the town is very good and helpfull. The breakfest is amazing with incredible dishes on morning. We enjoyed too much our honey moon on this hotel. We recomend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buonconvento
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The friendly and efficient welcome at reception; the demonstration of the room's facilities; the super, wide, comfortable beds; the well-equipped kitchenette and generous sitting area; the balcony with great views over the lake; the well-designed bathroom; the free Wi-Fi. What more could you want? Possibly a really good in-house restaurant? That too!
The multinational and young staff were a significant asset - always friendly but never familiar and always concerned to deliver what you want.
We have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone - if we come back to Queenstown we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the final hotel that we stayed in during our holiday in New Zealand and it couldn't have been better. The design of the hotel is excellent, the room was well designed and the views amazing. The hotel offers a complimentary coach to and from town every hour and if it is full it returns to pick up any additional guests. The wifi is complimentary, which is a small thing but something that should be offered in all hotels. The restaurant was small but the food amazing both at breakfast and in the evening which was fine dining. The staff could not do enough for us and arranged all of our excursions, rearranging them for us when the low clouds put them on hold. Definitely the place to stay in Queens-town.

Room Tip: Book a lake view for the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.