We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Queenstown
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in Dec 2012 on our visit from Canada. We were very impressed with the whole facility. It is located between the airport and downtown Queenstown with a nice view over the lake.

We stayed on the top floor in Room 713-3 which has a nice balcony and an amazing view of the lake. It is a fairly spacious room with a modern, large bathroom and a nice comfortable bed. There are motorized window blinds on the windows which was a nice touch. The suite is very tastefully done. There is a mini-fridge and a small bar area as well as a nice large computer desk area with the TV, and we also had free WIFI in the room which is always appreciated.

The bathroom in particular seemed very modern and spacious with separate shower and spa tub. Also, heated towel rack and floor tiles was very nice.

The bed is very comfortable and the staff are very professional and helpful. The driveway is quite steep and narrow when there are various cars/vans/taxis parked on it, and you have to be careful driving down into the parkade as it is tight and has a very sharp turn. Nothing to worry about, you just need to take the appropriate caution.

To get from the entrance to our suite to the living area, there is a flight of stairs which makes getting heavy suitcases up and down a bit of a chore. Not a complaint, this is just to advise those who might appreciate knowing that.

We appreciated the fact that there was free laundry facilities (which we utilized) and a concierge whom we booked a few excursions through which were billed to our room - nice touch to make things easy.

All in all we were very impressed with the Rees and will definitely stay here again. It is not cheap, but in this case, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Book upper floors for a great lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    212
    57
    20
    9
See reviews for
222
559
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at The Rees the second time we went to New Zealand as the first time was on a budget and we wanted to spend a little extra this time around.

First glimpse of this place and you know it's going to be special. They upgraded us to a room with a spa, which was great. The view from our room was spectacular. Rooms were immaculate.

We hired a car when we were in Queenstown it was only a short 5-10 mins drive into town.

This place left me leaving with a smile on my face!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the last of our 4 nights stay at this hotel, the first 3 days has been very nice, however this very last day turned out to be a big disappointment for their service. As the weather has been bad, we stayed in for most part of the day, we left our 3 bedroom apartment at almost 4 pm and called reception to have the housekeeping to do the rooms and remove our room service tray. Upon returning at about 11 pm, no housekeeping was done with room service tray where they were. We immediately called the reception and were shocked at the reply of "we don't have housekeeper at the moment and what do you want me to do ?" !!!!! It's been a good 3 days that we loved the place but only 1 ignorant and unprofessional answer to wipe out our good feeling of the place. I hope the management will seriously look into the "situation handling" of the hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colander, Manager at The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Somrudee A,

Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry that just one thoughtless staff member let the team down. We are always looking for ways to improve our services, so please email our CEO Mark Rose mark@therees.co.nz with your preferred contact details so he can discuss this further with you in person.

Kindest regards,
The Rees Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

On arrival to Queenstown we drove to the Rees Hotel and apartments. We had booked the two bedroom apartment for 2 nights. Wow was the first thing all of us said when we entered the lobby and then again when we got to the apartment. Four women traveling together would have preferred separate beds( we had 2 kings) but having this luxury was special and each bedroom had a bathroom!! Quiet location with a great view. This was a favorite with our group.

Room Tip: The rooms with partial view are a bit less expensive but have all the luxury as the rooms with the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We loved our stay at the Rees! We had a hotel room with a wonderful lake front view on the top floor. The room was clean, modern, and spacious with the best deck we had all of our trip. It was nice to be a bit outside of the center of Queenstown and feel like were close enough to get there quickly and far enough away that we felt secluded. There is a wonderful walking/running trail that is directly next to the hotel and leads into town. There is also a dock where you can take water taxis into town. Overall, super accommodating, gorgeous and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in an apartment at the Rees Hotel earlier this month and from the moment we entered the apartment we knew we were going to be in for a treat. We stayed in a three bedroomed two bathroom apartment on two floors with views to die for! The beds were extremely comfortable, the furnishings beautiful and the whole apartment very well equiped with a wonderfully equipped kitchen and much needed laundry room after four weeks touring New Zealand. The kitchen was so well equipped and the apartment comfortable we actually opted to stay in two nights and cook rather than go out! The jacuzzi bath in the top floor bathroom had the best views ever for a bath, and was in constant demand! Yes you could say that the down side was the distance from Queenstown itself but we never had problems parking even when the Rugby 7's competition was on, and to be fair taxis were cheap! Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view so all are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in a hotel appartment at The Rees in November/December 2012.
We enjoyed the quiet setting, the nicely decorated appartment with own furnished balcony overlooking the lake and mountains.
The service from the front desk and the concierges was excellent.
We will go back to the Rees for our next trip to Queenstown/New Zealand.
Good parking facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.