We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, fabulous room, very quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing views, fabulous room, very quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We loved our stay at the Rees! We had a hotel room with a wonderful lake front view on the top floor. The room was clean, modern, and spacious with the best deck we had all of our trip. It was nice to be a bit outside of the center of Queenstown and feel like were close enough to get there quickly and far enough away that we felt secluded. There is a wonderful walking/running trail that is directly next to the hotel and leads into town. There is also a dock where you can take water taxis into town. Overall, super accommodating, gorgeous and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    263
    77
    27
    13
See reviews for
279
687
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in an apartment at the Rees Hotel earlier this month and from the moment we entered the apartment we knew we were going to be in for a treat. We stayed in a three bedroomed two bathroom apartment on two floors with views to die for! The beds were extremely comfortable, the furnishings beautiful and the whole apartment very well equiped with a wonderfully equipped kitchen and much needed laundry room after four weeks touring New Zealand. The kitchen was so well equipped and the apartment comfortable we actually opted to stay in two nights and cook rather than go out! The jacuzzi bath in the top floor bathroom had the best views ever for a bath, and was in constant demand! Yes you could say that the down side was the distance from Queenstown itself but we never had problems parking even when the Rugby 7's competition was on, and to be fair taxis were cheap! Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view so all are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in a hotel appartment at The Rees in November/December 2012.
We enjoyed the quiet setting, the nicely decorated appartment with own furnished balcony overlooking the lake and mountains.
The service from the front desk and the concierges was excellent.
We will go back to the Rees for our next trip to Queenstown/New Zealand.
Good parking facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Rees Hotel for two nights just this past week. The property is amazing and the staff are more than helpful and well informed and the Concierge is available to recommend and book any activity you desire. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment overlooking the lake. he rooms are furnished beautifully and the kitchenette and laundry fitted out with modern, sleek appliances. The view from our balcony was stunning and it was a pleasure to wake up in such peaceful and beautiful surroundings. The Hotel itself is a way out of town but a free shuttle service is available. Only problem with the shuttle is you need to book, so going out or coming home spontaneously can be an issue. A water taxi is also provided but at a cost of $15.00 return per head - this can be an expensive option when there are a number of people in your travelling party. All in all, this property certainly lives up the to "Luxury" in it's name!

Room Tip: When booking, definitely ask for a lake view apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Fantastic apartments with a breathtaking view of the snow capped mountains in the winter. Modern and clean luxury apartments with a fabulous fireplace and heated towel rails in the bathrooms.
A little bit further out of town but worth the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at The Rees during our honeymoon in Nov. 2012. Upon check in we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment with an amazing view of the lake. The staff was always helpful and courteous, the room was extremely clean and had everything one could ever need including a full kitchen and a washer/dryer, did I mention the view? The only downside is that you have to drive to town as it would be a pretty long walk and the parking in Queenstown is a nightmare. We stayed in 5 different hotels during our honeymoon trip to NZ and the Rees was the only one that gave us a complimentary honeymoon amenity. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Rees, facilities and staff are great. A little out of town, but the free shuttle compensates. We had a one bedroom lake view, and the view alone worth the stay. It's a real benefit to have your own kitchen and laundry. Probably one of the cleanest places we have stayed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.