We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm setting, and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Calm setting, and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in a hotel appartment at The Rees in November/December 2012.
We enjoyed the quiet setting, the nicely decorated appartment with own furnished balcony overlooking the lake and mountains.
The service from the front desk and the concierges was excellent.
We will go back to the Rees for our next trip to Queenstown/New Zealand.
Good parking facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    676
    206
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
209
532
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Rees Hotel for two nights just this past week. The property is amazing and the staff are more than helpful and well informed and the Concierge is available to recommend and book any activity you desire. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment overlooking the lake. he rooms are furnished beautifully and the kitchenette and laundry fitted out with modern, sleek appliances. The view from our balcony was stunning and it was a pleasure to wake up in such peaceful and beautiful surroundings. The Hotel itself is a way out of town but a free shuttle service is available. Only problem with the shuttle is you need to book, so going out or coming home spontaneously can be an issue. A water taxi is also provided but at a cost of $15.00 return per head - this can be an expensive option when there are a number of people in your travelling party. All in all, this property certainly lives up the to "Luxury" in it's name!

Room Tip: When booking, definitely ask for a lake view apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Fantastic apartments with a breathtaking view of the snow capped mountains in the winter. Modern and clean luxury apartments with a fabulous fireplace and heated towel rails in the bathrooms.
A little bit further out of town but worth the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at The Rees during our honeymoon in Nov. 2012. Upon check in we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment with an amazing view of the lake. The staff was always helpful and courteous, the room was extremely clean and had everything one could ever need including a full kitchen and a washer/dryer, did I mention the view? The only downside is that you have to drive to town as it would be a pretty long walk and the parking in Queenstown is a nightmare. We stayed in 5 different hotels during our honeymoon trip to NZ and the Rees was the only one that gave us a complimentary honeymoon amenity. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Rees, facilities and staff are great. A little out of town, but the free shuttle compensates. We had a one bedroom lake view, and the view alone worth the stay. It's a real benefit to have your own kitchen and laundry. Probably one of the cleanest places we have stayed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked a 2 bed 2 bathroom apt over new year. Later I checked to see if we had a lake view which it didn't so upgraded for an extra $80 per night. On arrival we find the apt only had 1 bathroom. We were offered for an extra $200 per night an apt 2 bed 2 bath. After speaking with the manager he gave us an upgrade complimentary.
Nice apartment, staff very helpful.
Complimentary shuttle to town as hotel is a little out of town which is good during the hectic period at Xmas and NY.

Room Tip: Lake view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We cannot speak highly enough about the quality and overall wonderful experience we recently enjoyed at The Rees Hotel. A magnificent position on the shores of Lake Wakipitu, the ambience and comfort of the apartment was second to none. We experienced outstanding service from very friendly staff members and would most definitely recommend The Rees to any traveller to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.