We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay with a beautiful view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay with a beautiful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Rees was a wondful place to stay for a relaxing skiing holiday. A beautiful view from the room and a fantastic breakfast every morning in the dinning room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    263
    77
    27
    13
See reviews for
279
687
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Rees for 6 nights recently whilst in Queenstown skiing. The hotel is no more than 10 mins from the airport and has fabulous views over the lake to the mountains and a very enticing and warm reception area. There's covered parking and a ski room to store all your kit, with an attendant to ensure it's safe keeping. We were in a Lakeview room which was comfortable and warm. The bed was large and very comfortable and the rooms quiet. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was wonderful but we didn't have a bath which was missed on a skiing trip. Breakfast is very good and whilst we only had dinner in the restaurant once, it was excellent. Free internet is available but not very fast. The corcierge was helpful in arranging my skydiving trip and also providing information during the heavy snow. It's 3km from Queenstown which was fine for us as we had a hire car but maybe not ideal if relying on public transport. Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the area although I think if we were to stay again, we would look into the self catering apartments - they look very enticing with the gas fires and open living area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Second visit. Second great experience. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing place to come back to after a hard day on the slopes.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed at this amazing hotel for 7 days, big spacious bedrooms and bathrooms with the most breathtaking view over the lake and mountains.The bed & pillows the best I have ever slept on in a hotel, almost home away from home.The heated flooring in the bathroom was a God send, not only to keep warm but to dry off the ski clothes over night !Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Easy access to Queenstown, hotel has a shuttle leaving at 9, 10 and 11 am otherwise it is a short walk to the bus stop which comes along every 15 minutes. You can buy an unlimited weekly pass for $35. Taxi is about $13 NZD.Excellent food and service, we will be back for sure !

Room Tip: room on the ground level of level 7 best by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankalilla, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at The Rees in a hotel room for 2 nights. It was more up market than we were staying in elsewhere, but it was a treat for our anniversary. It was really comfortable and very well decorated. The bed was fantastic, and you can even purchase the same sort of bed if you really like it through the company that supplies them. There was a balcony overlooking the lake and the Remarkable mountains. The bathroom had floor heating and a large shower. Parking was undercover. It can be a bit of a walk to your room from the car park via walkways depending on your room location. Staff were generally helpful.
The location is not within the centre of town and would be out of the way if you didnt have a car. I think buses went by. Even though the hotel was on the main road into Queenstown the rooms were very quiet.
The only problem I had was the internet. Being somewhat "computer challenged" I was not used to laptops and internet access. I purchased an hour but didnt use it straight away, not realising that you had to use it as soon as you bought it. The fee was reimbursed when we checked out when I explained my woes.
Overall we were very pleased with The Rees and wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed there and love it - there is nothing like being snuggled up in front of a gas fire and looking at that spectacular view and the snow covered mountains. Great coffee in the room and everything in the kitchen you could need. We'll be definitely be back!

Room Tip: Great comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed 5 nights in a 1 bed lakeview executive and enjoyed it even more than the first time. Views of mountains and lake from the 6th floor were outstanding.

Spacious suite, well appointed kitchen and laundry, beautiful fire, balcony and free internet. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.