We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Apartment with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We have been coming back to Queenstown for the last 5 years and a taken back by the beauty of the Rees Apartments. The staff were falling over themselves to guarantee our stay would be remembered for years to come. The views from the room were breathtaking, waking to see the water sparkle. The concierge handled our needs and wants with ease. Our trip to the restaurant was extremely pleasurable with the takes from the south, the food and wine selection were amazing.
The rooms were furnished with beautiful style of finishes, the beds were so comfortable.
Thanks again the Rees team for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger 3 bed apartments, amazing space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    228
    67
    22
    9
See reviews for
241
604
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The noteworthy of this hotel is that it is close to Lake Wakatipu hence the view is amazing. Though there are many accommodations along the shores of the lake so it may not be the only hotel with great view. The reception is in level 5 and has a stunning view just like in the picture. The really downside is that we were greeted by the rudest and most unfriendly receptionist while we're in NZ. The blonde lady (I think she's the duty manager, but not sure and don't bother to find out) seems to be pissed answering our questions. No smile at all through out our conversation when checking in. We spent 3 nights there and other receptionists were very friendly and helpful. I even had a nice casual chat with the lady from Finland who was the night duty manager when using complimentary internet. The room was just OK, the room picture seems to be much bigger than the actual in my opinion. The view from our balcony is great which is a definite plus. A bit far from town so you will need a car or catch a taxi to go around. Overall, we had great experience with a little annoyance at the start.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had a fabulous week stay at the Rees. It was lovely to have a break away with our 8 month old daugther and my parents. It was a lovely relaxing week. It was lovely to eat out or have a quiet night in with a home cooked meal. The Rees has all the creature comforts of home and then some. The views were spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The Rees is one of a kind in Queenstown! We are regular visitors to this part of New Zealand, but stayed at The Rees for the first time last year. The Apartments are well provisioned, and tastefully decorated - I have never slept in such a comfortable bed! The set up is well thought through...hotel amenities, but with the independence of a kitchen, and 'apartment ambiance' that makes you feel at home. We ate at the restaurant twice during our week long stay...the food was as delicious as the view was breathtaking!
We have booked again for the same time next year, and plan to make it our annual choice...once you have stayed at The Rees you will only be disappointed by elsewhere!
I am renown for complaining when services fail to reach the standard proclaimed. Rarely am I impressed enough to offer praise!...but The Rees is certainly deserving of the time taken to post this review. I have recommended the place to 4 friends who all had similar experiences to ours and will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for our 20th Wedding Anniversary for 3 nights recently. I must say the hotel photos can be a little deceiving. On arrival (we were promised the best room on the Excecutive Floor). Not so at all, big stain on the carpet and it certainly didn't look like the photos that we had seen on their website, all we saw was a big roof with a dingy little balcony, however the lovely man from Reception quickly moved us to a room which we were most happy with . Thanks Anthony!!, we were delighted with the new room and must say the service is wonderful!! from housekeeping who are very thorough and love the turndown service to the lovely lady in the Restaurant. If you wish to stay here, do your homework though. It doesn't have a swimming pool which is a downer, but the views are beautiful, and the service is very attentive and nothing is too small for them. Great parking and a nice walk along the waterfront to the town centre is a must. It is a little far from town for just a little walk so you would need a car if you stay here, otherwise you may need to consider something closer to town if you want "all the action"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My husband and I travelled to Queenstown to renew our Wedding Vows.
We stayed in an executive hotel room. It was great. Very spacious & the view was AMAZING, we never shut our blinds. The staff were all very nice and friendly & the free breakfast was GREAT. We will definately stay there again and request the same room 501B. We had hired a car, so the distance to town did not bother us at all (about a three minute drive).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was a brilliant find. Large rooms, balcony overlooking the lake and THAT view over to the Remarkables. Staff were helpful and friendly, restaurant good but small. A lovely walk along the Lake shore to the town. I think this might have been the best hotel of our whole trip and nowhere near the most expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.