We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice is probably enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lofts Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lofts Apartments to your Saves list
The Lofts Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   61 Shotover St, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
singapore
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Twice is probably enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I first stayed at the Loft Apartments in Queenstown on my last visit in 2003. I can testify to the complaints about the parking situation - I got a parking fine on that trip.

This time, it was low season so we did not have problems finding parking. The place is largely the same ... though the fittings are beginning to look old now. The old CRT TVs give truncated images when watching telly. I think NZ broadcasts in a newer wide format now.

That said, if you don't think of it as a motel or hotel ... it does offer more space, washer/dryer facilities and the cleaning service is said to be every other day by another reviewer (we didn't get it at all the 2 nights we stayed).

The location however, is very central. Esp useful if you are travelling with older folks who can go shopping while we head out for other activities.

Both in 2003 and 2011, we stayed on the ground floor so I have no experience with noise (and no view) ... and we sat outside for a glass of wine on occasion.

The younger staff at the recept were generally more helpful and friendly. There was an older staff manning the counter who was rather more impersonal and less helpful.

All in, I would say it is neither good or bad... it depends on what you're after. It's a decent enough place to stay with useful washer facilities and central, but service is definitely basic, bordering on non-existent.

After two stays, I'll probably try somewhere else on the next visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor studios are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loftsmanagement, Manager at The Lofts Apartments, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
in respone to your comments about "things looking old. Each apartment is individually owned and slightly different with decor etc. TV's have been recently upgraded in many and those who have not yet will be in the near future.
Room Servicing is every second day which means 1st night has been fully serviced . 2nd day no service, 3rd day service. You departed on the 3rd day.
All studio units are on the ground level so don't have a view.
As you mentioned no noise at the time you stayed and parking no problem. The comments we have when these are issues are at peak times and avoidable at this enviable location in downtown Queenstown.

Reception and guest service - we are happy to book activity's and help guests with any information we can. Apartments are all self catering. We are not a Hotel or have concierge service .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    35
    23
    13
    21
See reviews for
36
40
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Its more like an apartment stayu then a hotel. Stay in a 200 or higher rooms, they are further away from the street, spacious,t and very quiet. the rooms are like studio apartments with own washer/dryer, full kitchen. The cleaning service comes every other day. The location is excellant. Was a nice stay. You can take city bus 11 to get to I-site and walk to hotel or there is an airport shuttle which was 20NZD for 2 people one-way

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waroona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed in the Lofts Apartments for seven days and it was a great stay. The rooms were a good size, the beds very comfortable, the views incredible, one street back from the harbour, within walking distance of almost everything and everything supplied in a well equiped kitchen.

The staff were very friendly and very, very helpful, there was good secure car parking for a very small fee, and our holiday was most enjoyable. We are going to recommend this motel/apartments to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Lofts are conveniently located next to the harbour, restaurants and bars. The Lofts have studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units. All units are fully contained, meaning that there is a stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink and utensils. The units are not contempory, yet are comfortable enough. The bathroom has a no-fee washer and dryer. Wi-Fi Internet is available for a small fee. They have a lock box for those persons arriving after hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus Bay
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here for four nights, and like the other reviewers, could get little sleep because of the street noise. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, and after the second night we shifted to the smaller room to avoid the noise. However, AFTER our departure, we discovered that our credit card had been debited with an extra $320 (without authorisation) for the use of the second room! After 3 months, they agreed to refund most of it, but that was not the point.
Although the location is great, the parking is horrendous, and the staff do not belong in the "hospitality" industry. In hindsight, it would have been far more pleasant, and cheaper to stay a little way out of town and pay for taxi fares into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLofts, Manager at The Lofts Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
In response to the review.
Noise issue- The Lofts is located in town centre close to night clubs. Location is fantastic but if you are looking for a quiet retreat, out of town may be your preference. To be honest we rarely have complaints from guests about this.

Credit card charges- were applied after 2 rooms ( instead of the one) were used without notifying management prior to departure or during stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Four of us stayed here. Having searched most of Queenstown for accommodation when we turned up we ended up at this place right in the heart of the town centre. We were told that all they had left was a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom top floor apartment. We thought this would be way out of our price range so were pleasantly surprised at the reasonable rate.
The apartment was really spacious with washing machine and tumble drier in the main bathroom which was really handy after 3 weeks of travelling. The kitchen was well equipped and even had a dishwasher. There was a balcony with great views of the Remarkable Mountain Range and the lake. The decor could do with an update but it looked like the apartment next to us had recently been refurbished and it looked great. We initially were going to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 5. The location is great as everything is on your doorstep.
Parking is an issue as there aren't many spaces, but once we'd parked our car on the first day we didn't use it again as we were able to walk to everywhere in the town and all the attractions (bungy, jetboating, etc) lay on free transport anyway.
The views from the balcony definitely made this place, but it looked like you'd only get those from the top floor apartments. We'd definitely stay here again if we could get the same sort of apartment again. This place was a real find.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We transferred our booking from Caples Court to the Loft Apartments because we were told there was an elevator which there was but we were not told until we arrived that the main doors are locked at 7 p.m. and the access to our room was by stairs.As one of our party suffers from M.S. the stairs were a daunting task for her .If we had been told this we would had looked for other accommodation.
The room it self left a lot to be desired in cleaniness and the beds are the worst I have slept in,the front desk staff were quite abrupt when we requested more tea or coffee on several occassions.Car parking is a hassel,very tight and not enough spaces.On the positive side the location is great ,close to everything and flat for walking.The rooms were quite large and had good facilities(except the beds) and the view across the lake was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLofts, Manager at The Lofts Apartments, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Thank you for taking so much time to thoroughly check through the apartment and write such a comprehensive review. We do work on improving and respond as follows.

The Lofts is made up of 23 apartments- 14 x managed ( motel) apartments and
9x "TIMESHARE apartments" You were staying in a timeshare apartment, which are not allocated by us as managers but the exchange company you booked through.
All of the apartments are different sizes with different bed configurations and guest occupancy. Please refer this to the exchange company and in future ensure you are allocated a suitable apartment by them.
Unfortunately we do not know how many people are arrivng until check in. It also states on your confirmation to advise reception if you expect to arrive after 7pm to receive after hours arrival instructions. If not though, as you found, there is an after hours phone , late arrivals lock box with keys and directions to your room.
Location is the most Central there is in Queenstown,so Car-parking is of course at a premium .The Lofts provide some parking at first in basis. There is a conveniently located public Car-park building adjoining the Lofts which we can offer a discounted rate at reception. Only 1 car-park per unit.
Dining- There is 4 chairs at the table, another 2 at the breakfast bar.( 6 in total)
Tea towel/dish cloth- are provided, apologies if this had been missed. I hope you did see reception at the time to get this rectified.
Reception hours change seasonally. Access through front reception is available on request and an access card given.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lofts Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Apartments

Address: 61 Shotover St, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lofts Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lofts Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lofts Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Lofts Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lofts Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.