We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gorgeous view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pounamu Apartments to your Saves list
Pounamu Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Night Free!
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
GreenLeadersGold level
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel with gorgeous views. The location to the town was great and we couldn't have asked for more. Our toilet was running and they sent someone right away to take care of it. Can't wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
JaK26_13

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Pounamu Apartments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Check out our website for updates and Special Offers.

Warm regards,

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    173
    46
    15
    12
See reviews for
151
536
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alstonville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at these apartments. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Very comfortable beds and quality furnishings. Own parking right underneath. Leo said 10 mins to town-he must be pretty athletic. We received accurate and helpful advice about activities and places to eat, as well as scenic drives etc. Microwave and all eating utensils in our studio apartment. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi Paullesley783

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Studio Room. Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor.

PS.. The walk into town is 10 minutes when you walk down through the gardens. It’s the walk back that takes a little longer up the hill.

We hope to see you again, sometime soon. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our stay in Queenstown at Pounamu Apartments was the highlight of our 2 week trip to NZ! We had originally booked a small studio apartment out the back but on arrival, the staff were happy to show us both options (a full apartment with lake view) before allowing us to upgrade. The additional charge was well worth it!

The view of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables is just breathtaking! Adding to this, the apartment was spacious, very clean, well furnished and came with the most comfortable bed we have every slept on in a hotel! Parking was underground and only a short walk from the room down a flight of stairs. Staff were very friendly and always helpful.

The under floor heating made a huge difference to the temperature in the room and we were able to enjoy many a glasses of wine in front of the gas fire heater.

Location was great too! The centre of town was only a 10 minute stroll down the road and when it came time to fly out, the airport was a 10min drive away (with a handy couple of petrol stations on the way to fill up the rental car).

We would definitely come back to Pounamu as we had a fantastic stay! Would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose the lake view apartments - well worth the extra charges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi Anna
Your 5 star Review sums up Pounamu and Queenstown perfectly.
Breath taking views .. tick! And the bed toppers are like sleeping on a cloud!

We look forward to you staying with us again. Book direct and receive a Special Offer from Pounamu as a returning Guest.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here recently on our trip to the South Island. We used Queenstown as a base for our activities and stayed here for a couple of nights. The apt is conveniently located, very clean and modern. We really enjoyed our stay here. The wifi is free too. We took a trip to Milford Sound and they let us leave our bags in the apt for that night without charing us. We really appreciate the gesture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi nenj
I’m pleased to read that you had an “excellent stay” at Pounamu. I hope you enjoyed Milford Sound as much as I have done on numerous occasions. It was our pleasure to store your luggage – just one of the many services we offer our Guests.

Thanks for the great review!

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked with Pounamu Apartments based on the good reviews but were disappointed with the size of our studio which was miniscule with a bathroom to match. There were signs on all entry doors telling guests to remove their shoes before entering the premises which I found ridiculous as there was nowhere to sit to do this. However the staff were really charming and helpful with suggestions of where to go and making reservations. We were surprised to discover that our studio would not be cleaning during the whole week we were there. The most annoying thing was that the "free Wifi" as advertised was almost non existent. On the odd occasion that I was able to get on line the connection would drop out 5 minutes later.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lake view would be great but not the studios at the back which have a view of a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Sue P. I am surprised to read that you were disappointed with the Studio Room and the amenities on offer.

At the time of check in, we invite Guests to contact Reception with any requests and concerns, so we can quickly sort things out. Our sincere apologies that we didn’t have the opportunity to rectify things at the time of your stay.

Our Studio Rooms are like a small hotel room – perfect for those that are out all day enjoying the sights of Queenstown and as like the Apartments are “unserviced, however we provide full laundry facilities and extra towels. The Wi-Fi Internet has 4 login/passwords in each room, (2 BRM has 8 logins for 8 devices) which sometimes needs a simple reset. We are one of the few establishments in Queenstown that have installed the super fast fibre optic broadband.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My mother and i enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown for Easter this year. We stayed in a one bedroom premier room with a beautiful view of the mountains and lake.
From the moment we laid eyes on the beautiful complex, we fell in love. With beautifully pedicured lawns and gardens, the hotel complex displays a very welcoming appearance. This continues into the rooms, which are kept very clean and tidy to the highest levels.
Beautiful fragrances are offered to use in the bathroom and are very specially New Zealand soaps and shampoo, conditioners.
The staff are all fantastic and adhere to any concerns immediately, always offering a conversation too.
The spa pool is set in a beautiful location, once again with mountain and lake views across lake Wakatipu.
The gas fire in our apartment was certainly appreciated, as was the underfloor heating which ensured we always arrived back to a warm home.
The kitchen facilities were phenomenal, with a gas oven ensuring that our roast was able to cook to perfection on Sunday evening.
The special Prada perfume fragrance is also a pleasant incentive when deciding where it is you may like to reside on your holidays.
The short walking distance to the town provided us with the opportunity to leave the car at the apartments and embrace a nice spot of exercise into town.
The laundry facilities are something that i have not yet encountered with a hotel complex of this calibre, but let's just say that they were greatly appreciated - particularly the dryers, as i'm sure any family would appreciate. This is particularly a great and very convenient idea for the cold Winter months when everybody will have their ski clothing that needs to be washed and dried over night.
All in all, a wonderful experience was had and we look forward to returning next time :).

Room Tip: The one and two bedroom premier rooms certainly offer a lot more comfort and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi AmandaLee90

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed 5 star review. I’m so pleased that you and you mum enjoyed your Easter here at Pounamu.

The Prada Perfume along with many other “designer” female or male fragrances we surprise our Guests with, is certainly something special that all of our Guests enjoy. Just book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Apartment directly through Pounamu, for 2 or more days and it will be waiting in your Apartment on your arrival.

Check out our website for more Special Offers...

We look forward to your return. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a fantastic time in Queenstown which was enhanced by our stay at the Pounamu apartments. We had a one bedroom self contained apartment with a wonderful balcony view over Lake Wakatipu and beyond to the ever changing moods of the hills. The staff at Pounamu were friendly and helpful and I would recommend a stay for those who would appreciate a Queenstown centrally located luxury experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi James,
Thank you for your feedback and review, and yes I have to agree with you, we are centrally located and we offer the luxury experience.

We hope that you will join us again sometime soon, maybe next Summer?

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: 110 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms a like a small hotel room with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pounamu Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.