We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pounamu Apartments to your Saves list
Pounamu Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Night Free!
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
GreenLeadersGold level
Kapolei, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I were looking for somewhere in Queenstown that was inexpensive, well located and comfortable. At Pounamu Apartments we certainly got that and more. We stayed in one of the studio apartments and foresook the lake view saving some cash to be used for activities instead. So, although we couldn't cook in the room we did have all the plates, silverware and cups we needed with the option of using the grill located outside our room. We did have some light breakfasts in our room and the tea provided was well appreciated by my wife. Loved the shower, the bed was quite comfy and the WiFi signal excellent. Perhaps the best part was the staff who were all as pleasant and accommodating as they possibly could be. From booking activities to making suggestions to storing our bags for a few days while we travelled to Milford Sound (after we had checked out) they were incredible! By the way, when you book an activity of more than $250 through them you have a choice of a bottle of wine or a box of chocolates as a gift. Nice, right? So, there you have it, the place that was perfect for our Queenstown stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear hoople53

Thank you for the lovely review. I’m so pleased to hear that Pounamu was your perfect stay in Queenstown and that you enjoyed your stay in the Studio Room. Our team thoroughly enjoy meeting guests from all over the world and booking trips and activities for you - and yes the wine or chocolates gift is very popular, not to mention we don’t charge service or credit card fees.

I hope you enjoyed Milford Sound – it is one of my favourite places in Fiordland, especially the reflections of Mitre Peak!

We hope to see you again. Ro

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    173
    46
    15
    12
See reviews for
151
536
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Pounamu for 4 nights in January 2014. There were many things about Pounamu Apartments that we enjoyed and appreciated. However, next time we would DEFINITELY pay more to have a room with a view.

We had a studio room that looked over the back and was at garden level. The room was tiny--so clean and great features, but dark and we could hear everything from the apartment unit that was behind us. Our neighbors played loud movies late at night that shook the room, we could hear the clanging of the dishes, and smell breakfast and dinner! I got a peek inside the room when it was being cleaned and I TOTALLY was kicking myself for not getting an apartment with a view. GORGEOUS.

Good features:
Price seem reasonable
Free laundry facility shared with just one other room
Rooms are VERY clean and come equipped with dishes, fridge, toaster, microwave
Comfortable beds and bedding
Friendly and helpful staff

Things that could have been better:
Wifi was not the best
Underground parking garage lights turned off during the day made it dark and hard to see
Close to town, staff said 10 minute walk but that is a stretch
Sound carries from room to room
Room not serviced for free (we just washed our own towels and made the bed!)

I would stay again but not in a studio room!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Katie

Thank you for your review. The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room (no views) with a small kitchenette. Next time you stay you will want to relax in our Apartments with the amazing lake and mountain views!

I’m disappointed to hear that guests in the adjoining Apartment were noisy. My sincere apologies, we don’t expect guests to put up with any nonsense. We encourage guests to contact us directly anytime, as our Managers actually live on site and can sort out issues immediately, ensuring that our guests enjoy their stay.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay in an Apartment.

If you email me at marketing@pounamuapartments.co.nz I will organise a very good rate for you. Currently on our website we have a Special offer for the month of May “Stay 4 Nights & Pay for 3 Nights”, which makes it a very affordable holiday.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays for four nites - the staff is wonderful - the accommodations great. It's pricey -but worth every dollar - lots of space; good amenities and walking distance to town. Bed is sooooo comfy and bathrooms well appointed. They also were very helpful booking tours and giving restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Top floors have little bit better view of the lake - don't worry about the traffic that is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi AASM2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas holidays here with us at Pounamu and Queenstown.

Creating those "lifetime memories" is our second name. We have experienced many of the trips/activities and our taste buds certainly get a good workout at some of the best restaurants here in Queenstown.

We enjoy creating a whole itinerary for a week or just 1 or 2 days. Please come back again soon, so we can show off more of what Queenstown and the greater region has to offer.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in summer. Great apartment with a fantastic view! Reasonably close to town, easy to walk down for food etc.
Couldn't have asked for anything else in somewhere to stay. But definitely somewhere to stay for a special weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Groovy Divas

Long weekends away, with fantastic views, ohhhh yes!! Thank you for writing your review.

We look forward to you joining us again for a long week next time.

Kind regards

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in October for our honeymoon. We would 1000% recommend staying here to anyone and wish we could give Pounamu more than 5 stars! Pounamu was by far the best place we stayed during our 2-week trip in New Zealand! We were upgraded to a Premiere apartment, which had all the comforts of home and an extremely comfortable bed. The view from the living room and deck were absolutely stunning….so beautiful that we cooked dinner in our apartment two nights to enjoy the spectacular sunsets! Pounamu is about a 10-15 minute walk into town which was perfect. While uphill on the way back, the views are unbelievable so who can complain. Our honeymoon stay was further enhanced by the extremely friendly and helpful staff, especially Ro who is so vivacious! Ro provides first class service and helped us set up many activities, provided helpful recommendations and worked her magic to get us a private dining room at Botswana Butchery (strongly recommend eating there). Ro makes the experience of staying at Pounamu and Queenstown even more enjoyable. Thank you for an incredible stay! We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
ErinMDT

Thank you for your awesome review. I’m so pleased that we helped to create the perfect Honeymoon and that you enjoyed cooking in the Apartment and enjoying those spectacular sunsets – I have to admit, they are amazing!!

Looking after our Guests is what we love doing, thank you for your wondeful feedback.

We look forward to you joining us again – maybe for your first wedding anniversary. Remember to email us directly to get that Special Gift.

Cheers, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time with the young family. Location was close to town, staff were very friendly and helpful. Overlooking the lake and the Remarkables, even on the days with average weather the apartments are still perfect for enjoying Queenstown. Will definitely come for another stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Tapu_F

Thank you for the wonderful review. The 2 BRM Apartments are perfect for families with so much space. I hope you got to check out the DVD Library and Playground area for the children?

We look forward to you joining us again.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our NZ holiday began in Queenstown and due to delayed flights, we arrived a day later than planned. Big kudos to Pounamu apartments for being super flexible and accommodating - they helped us shift our dates, which meant we could spend an extra day with them. We had the added problem of our luggage never arriving with us and they helped by lending us their laptop and power adaptor. This really made a difference.

We had the studio room which was ideal - we were hardly in the room so would not have benefitted from having a view (although an added bonus no doubt) so we have absolutely no regrets there. The room was perfectly kitted out - comfiest bed in the world, a mini kitchenette with kettle, cutlery and crockery , plus fridge and microwave and a lovely good-sized bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is included (which was great as we noticed many other hotels charged extra for this) - one device at a time can be connected but no issue. The phones in the rooms allow free local calls which came in particular use for us as we called Queenstown / Auckland airport a lot re. our missing luggage.

The best thing for us was the fact that there was a washer and dryer outside our room which we could use - perfect in our situation where our luggage did not arrive. Really appreciated this amenity! But also perfect for those who indulge in sporty activities and would prefer to do washing instead of lugging smelly clothes about. Detergent is provided as well as a clothes horse (handy for garments you can't tumble dry).

Apartments are slightly further out from town - about 10-15 min walk but absolutely no problem. Views really are breathtaking here and it was nice to be somewhere peaceful.
Big thanks to Ro and Susy who we dealt with during our time here - super friendly, helpful and always with a smile on their face. Needless to say, themselves and Pounamu Apartments made the pain of a delayed flight + lost luggage MUCH more bearable. Would not hesitate to stay here again and 100% recommend this place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear meichan3

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Studio Room, especially after your eventful start to your holiday.

We have more good news regarding our Wi-Fi, not only is it Unlimited and Free, but we have now installed the Super Duper fast Fibre Optic connection, which now allows our guests to login with 4 devices for each room, so a 2 BRM Apartment can have up to 8 connections!

The team thoroughly enjoy taking care of your needs. Our goal is to ensure that you leave Queenstown and Pounamu with happy and unforgettable life time memories.

Come back again soon, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: 110 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms a like a small hotel room with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pounamu Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.