We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, close enough to town and friendliest service you can find!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Save Saved
You added Pounamu Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Perth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great place, close enough to town and friendliest service you can find!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First of all let me start by saying that if I was rating service alone this place would be 10 stars. The management are just brilliant and nothing is too much trouble.

I read the reviews in detail before booking and had found that most of the negative comments were for people who had booked the 'rear studio' apartments and commented about how small and boxy they were. We were in a front (premier) apartment which had enough space for entertaining a group of four.

I would definitely recommend paying the upgrade for the view and space if you are spending anything more than a couple of nights here.

We were at Pounamu for just over two weeks and really enjoyed our stay. We had guests over for dinner, cooked roasts, watched movies and made it our home (in NZ for five weeks total) and were able to avoid having to eat out every night.

We would happily return and stay here again. Things to consider on the downside (none of which were major or would impact our decision to come back)
- Considerable traffic noise from Frankton Rd (busy) compared with Rees which is down lower and on the lake-side of Frankton
- No restaurant or gym on site
- About a 10 min walk from the heart of Queenstown (if you wanted to be part of the action - we enjoyed the walk)

Room Tip: Absolutely go with the premier / front apartments. Rear studios cheaper but not no view and really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    132
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
119
442
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a studio room to stay in luxury and weren't to concerned about the views as we were staying in other places with as good views. I did realise it would be on smaller size when booking but found it to be smaller than I had imagined. The "kitchenette" was very hard to do anything in apart from tea and coffee. Also my bad for overlooking this on the booking but the rooms are not daily serviced which for the price & size of the studios we found a little annoying. We then had to buy shampoo/conditioner etc just for a 4 day stay, the supplied toiletries only lasted 2 showers.
The mattress topper was very soft but bumpy and I found my side of the bed to be uncomfortable. All in all in Queenstown you spend most of your time out n about anyways... Would I stay here again? Probably not in a studio, the 1 bedroom apartments etc looked amazing.
It was a nice modern stay in a great location so thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Loved it, wife loved it, back this year with family, now has Spa, great views, esp. on 2 floor, close to town, clean, modern beautiful, well built and maintained, good service, yeap Im on holiday at Pounamu!

Room Tip: 2nd floor otherwise you are looking at the rd and veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pounamou apartments are located in a prime position. 10 minute walk from the town centre and a 10 minute drive from the airport. Even though it is close to the main road, it still offers enough privacy and we found it peaceful. The apartments themselves are gorgeous with a stunning view of the lake and 'Remarkables' mountains. They are equipped with everything you need - as if you were a home away from home. The team at Pounamou are friendly and hospitable and I could not speak more highly of recommending this accomodation if you are looking for a romantic and affordable getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The apartment was lovely and had all the mod cons, including gas fire, tv and underfloor heating. The kitchen was well appointed and had a dishwasher and everything you could need was in the cupboards. The views were a huge selling point from the apartments. You get an uninterrupted view of the Remarkables. The road noise was there but it didn't really bother me particularly. There is a outdoor heated spa in the apartment block also. There is a computer and printer with internet which was really useful for us to keep in touch with friends back home. The beds were very comfortable and in the 2 bedroom apartment and each room had their own bathroom which was really helpful for getting through showers and getting out the door to do activities with our teenagers. I think its a very luxurious apartment. A bit expensive but certainly had everything you could want. TV has cable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book directly and you get some prada perfume free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend and decided to pay a little extra for some luxury. The apartment was wonderfully appointed and had a fantastic view out over Queensland, beautiful gas open fire and everything needed for a longer stay. We were quite disappointed about the road noise which even with the windows close was quite noticeable. The bed was a shocker and needs replacing. I would recommend to friends, but would warn about the proximity to the road.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the apartments are on the main road into town. Whilst you get road noise, at leas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in a premier one bedroom apartment for a week while snowboarding at Coronet Peak and the Remarkables and didn't want to leave Blythe end. Queenstown is a great city and Pounamu is only a 15 minute walk into town (up a hill on the way back though). The views from the apartment were breathtaking and it is worth getting an apartment as it has the view and I think the premier ones are the ones on top. Great staff and being able to book the spa was also appreciated.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: 110 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms a like a small hotel room with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this ‘Remarkable’ region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pounamu Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.