We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forty Days and Forty Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amity Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Amity Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dittmer, Missouri
1 review
“Forty Days and Forty Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just ended an extended stay in Queenstown, New Zealand! We stayed at Amity Lodge 10 years ago for a couple of nights and vowed we would return for a longer period. This time 40 days!Doug and Jo were outstanding hosts and our accomodation was outstanding. We had ample space in our apartment to rest and relax, do our own cooking. Very clean and very friendly staff made our stay a wonderful experience. Just a 10 minute walk to Town Center, eliminated the need for a rental car. In short, we loved it and will return someday for another visit to this wonderful area. Hint!! If you want a rental car, inquire with Doug about Phil's Car Rentals just down the street! We rented a car for 3 days, for $25/day to visit Arrowtown, Glenorchy, Wanaka and Kingston--beautiful places!

Room Tip: We opted for the second floor---a wonderful view of Gondola Hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    100
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
178
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice reasonably priced accommodation walking distance from CBD. Very clean units well serviced. Quiet location off the main road. Friendly helpful staff ready to assist with questions about attractions and activities about Queenstown.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I must admit that we were a bit disappointed when we arrived here. Although it was all clean and tidy, it's really in need of an update. The bed was ok and the sheets lovely but the decor was a bit depressing.
It was in quite a good position with only 5 - 10 mins walk into town (quite a hill coming back!) . Book an upstairs room as they are a bit brighter and have a view of the mountain.
We were able to park our car outside the room but there was also parking on the road.
Overall it was ok for an odd night but would have liked a better standard if we had been staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Amity Lodge for the weekend (we were up from Dunedin for the weekend). Our room was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Parking was outside the rooms along a narrow drive. Doug and Jo were very helpful, they booked a couple of trips for us over the phone from their office (saved us doing the running around). Close to town (5 mins) but a steep walk back up the hill, nothing to worry about unless you're very unfit. Good honest accommodation, no views from the rooms but doesn't pretend to be anything it's not. We would stay here again and recommend it!

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs room. Room was quiet (no noise from above) and the bedroom was in the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Jo and Doug were excellent, knowledgeable and caring hosts. So helpful with advice and assistance.

Our unit was so spacious! Lots of light through glass doors, big living area, fully-stocked kitchen (no oven, though), comfortable bathroom with big tub and bedroom with two beds. Like home away from home. Handy laundromat on site.

Location does not have a view but is in a quiet street and a short (but hilly) walk to town. If you are staying in the Queenstown area there is no need to rent a car. Also close to a bus stop.

Terrific value and they will treat you WELL!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upstairs unit, but you have to go up a flight of stairs, no lift. Lovely view up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous, comfortable and clean one-bedroomed apartment on the first floor gave us lots of space and privacy with great views of the surrounding mountains over to the gondola. The town centre is just a few minutes walk away, so no need to park in the centre. Doug was a very friendly and helpful host with lots of suggestions and information on how best to spend the time we had in Queenstown. The apartment was well equipped for self-catering.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Amity Lodge Motel for 2 nights and enjoyed it. It is nicely located, only a 5 minute walk from Queenstown's city centre which is ideal.
The family unit we had was clean, spacious and well-equipped.

The only problem was the building site next door, which meant that we couldn't use the balcony because of the noise (or even leave the sliding door open). We thought it could have been mentioned at some point during the booking or when we checked-in, it was slightly deceitful of them not to. Especially considering the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amity Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.