We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness sightseeing in style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milford Sound Scenic Cruises - Real Journeys

Milford Sound Scenic Cruises - Real Journeys
Milford Sound Visitor Terminal, Milford Sound 9846, New Zealand
+64 3-249 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Choose a Real Journeys Milford Sound Scenic Cruise and experience the fiord's majestic scenery from the comfort of our spacious modern vessels. Exceptional viewing opportunities, spacious decks and comfortable lounges. Look out for seals, dolphins and penguins en route, cruise close to waterfalls and enjoy the magnificent vistas. Informative commentaries in several languages. Delicious lunches available. Departs Milford Sound (all year). Coach connections also available from Te Anau and Queenstown. Fly back option to Queenstown available (extra cost).
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wilderness sightseeing in style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent service aboard Real Journeys vessels, ploughing the Milford fiord route. Informative commenaries, close up nature experiences, and warmth and comfort from the interiors.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    84
    22
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day, great way to see Milford Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took the coach tour from Queenstown and had a wonderful day. The coach trip was really good, with frequent stops to enjoy the scenery and to take photos. The driver was very entertaining and knowledgeable from the European perspective, but less so from the Maori perspective. More of the Maori cultural stories would have really enhanced our understanding of the area. This company has exclusive coaches with large windows in the roof - this really adds to the experience, allowing you to view the magnificent mountains and wonderful views.

The cruise was brilliant - we did the longer nature cruise and I would recommend it. The provided lunch was good but i would make sure you have other food for the day - it is a very long day. Overall an amazing experience, not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Must see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we took an all day excursion with real journeys from Queenstown to Milford Sound, though yes it was a long day we were picked up ay 6:45am from our hotel and got back at 7:30pm there is not a thing I would change. On the way there we stopped at various points of interest the scenery was dramatic to say the least and that was even before we had reached Mildford Sound! Our bus driver was very imformative and pointed out various locations along the way as well as the history of the area, one stop we had was at Monkey Creek (Milford Sound side of Homer tunnel) where we were able to fill up our drink bottles with pure fresh water there is nothing like it! As it had rained and snowed the day before and night before the valley of a thousand waterfalls really was it got to the point you did not know which way to look as the bus has a glass roof and we were sitting at the front.
The cruise was an hour and a half along you can pay to have lunch onboard (pre-book) or our driver suggestd for those of us who had not pre-booked lunch to pick something up at one of our stops.
Though it could be classed as a long day I would not change a minute of it, Milford Sound was one of the places I really wanted to see and would happy go back and do it all over again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Immense Waterfalls & Towering Mountains - A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I drove to Milford Sound from Queenstown, and the drive itself was worth the trip out to Milford Sound! It was stunning... exactly as I pictured New Zealand to be in my mind all of these years when dreaming about going there.

The Milford Mariner was such a fun trip. Unfortunately AND fortunately, it rained the entire night that we were there. I say unfortunately first because we were discouraged from really enjoying the kayaking, etc. as it was very cold, but I also say fortunately because we had a dramatic display of waterfalls that developed due to the rush of newly fallen rain. The next morning, we woke to the sun peaking out from the mountaintops and the water still gushing down from the precipices. We got to see glimpses of bottle-nosed dolphins, were brought up-close and personal with some seals, and got to touch the mists of the newly-developed falls when the Mariner sailed up along side them. We also went out for a bit into the sea, which was equally as beautiful.

The accommodations are no-frills (but who needs frills in a place like this?!). The beds were comfortable, and it was nice to have our own shower and bathroom in such small quarters.

The food was actually quite good as well! We had a very (large) dinner meal as well as a hearty breakfast, and we got to chat with some other folks on board due to the designated seating, which we especially love to do when traveling (you never know who you are going to meet!). The endless supply of coffee was also a good added perk.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this trip! You won't regret it :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great overnight cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we came on this as a couple and had an ensuite roo.m. The cruise was really well organised and the food and cabins were great. After dinner there was a short and entertaining slide show put on by the crew member who is the nature guide. Throughout the cruise there was just the right amount of commentary. Having an overnight cruise means that you get 2 chances with the weather. It was not all that good on the day we left but we woke up to a wonderful morning with great views of Milford Sound. I highly recommend this is you want to see the Sound. Be aware that the road was closed a few times during the 2 week period that we were in NZ, so you need to check on this before leaving your previous accommodation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound Scenic Cruises - Real Journeys also viewed

Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound Scenic Cruises - Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milford Sound Scenic Cruises - Real Journeys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.