We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cruise Highly Recommened ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitre Peak Cruises

Mitre Peak Cruises
Milford Sound Visitor Centre, Milford Sound 9679, New Zealand
+64 (0)3 249 8110
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mitre Peak Cruises offer fantastic 2 hour cruises of stunning Milford Sound on its small purpose built boats (maximum capacity 75). Mitre Peak Cruises takes you where the big boats can't go, taking you closer to the waterfalls, wildlife and spectacular scenery of Milford Sound. Coach, fly and helicopter options are available from Queenstown and Te Anau.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Cruise Highly Recommened ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just got back from the 2:50pm trip and have to say it was amazing, I would defiantly recommend these guys as the boat isn't as big as some but gets up so close and personal with milford sound! I won't give to much away as it's an experience you need to do yourself, even saw penguins! Great staff, great boat, great tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hello there!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your trip with us. The 2.50 pm cruise is definitely a nice warm one! With not many other boats on the Fiord at this time, the wildlife is not disturbed as much and do not hide. While the fur seals are big posers, the penguins like to keep to themselves. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip around Milford, we are very happy to be a part of your experience. Thank you for the lovely review, all the best with future travels.
Kind regards, the team at Mitre Peak Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    38
    11
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Would highly recommend Mitre Peak Cruises to anyone who is thinking of heading to the beautiful Milford Sound!

We had the lovely Hamish as our driver who had a whole heap of knowledge of the area and a brilliant driver!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to review your day trip with us in Milford Sound. It really is such a beautiful and unique place and we are glad you enjoyed it. I will pass your comments onto Hamish, we really pride ourselves on how knowledgeable our crew our – they really love their jobs!
Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand.
Kind Regards,
The team at Mitre Peak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery but a Long Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The travel girls at the info centre in Queenstown talked us, (6 all up), out of a larger vessel cruise in favour of the smaller Mitre Peak boat, the advice was accepted even though it was dearer to go with them for our six year old grandson, (children were more expensive). The bus ride was long but acceptable and the driver gave a good commentary with adequate stops, the $15.00 lunchbox was ok but nothing out of the ordinary.
The boat ride was what one would expect insofar as the beautiful scenery goes, we did drive under a waterfall and saw about six seals on a rock and a couple of birds, but that was all, no penguins nor dolphins.
It was quite cold on the day and we decided to sit inside and mainly look out the windows and occasionally go outside, however, when we first got on the boat we noticed that the windows were streaked with what was probably salt water and they were not clear to see out of right from the start, it was obvious that they had not been cleaned before our cruise. It was seen later that the windows on the non-wharf side would have been hard to clean as there was no way to walk around the smaller boat but the ones on the wharf side would have been easy to do.
It was also quite noisy inside from the engine and I wondered if it would have been the same in the larger boats, somehow I doubted this but it is not possible you compare as we did not go on the larger boat. Cynically I considered that perhaps this cruise company paid the info centre a bigger commission as opposed to the larger cruises.
As we were getting off I suggested, (in a friendly, way), to the young female staff member, that they should clean the windows before the next tour, I could not believe the reaction to this as I was told very strongly and rudely, in a, “oh yes we do!" way”, (actual words), that they were cleaned after each trip. I looked back later and noted the staff member in question was hosing off the front of the boat, but no effort was being made to remove the streaks. My view, as a regular traveller is that even if she thought that they were being adequately cleaned by hosing off, (if they were), that the customer should always be treated with respect and as being right.
The trip back was ok, the driver drove quite quickly and safely but it was a long day, and I am not sure, even though the basic scenery is beautiful, as is the New Zealand we saw, that I would recommend it as a one day tour for a family group with children.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review your day trip with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not overly happy with the day trip, you are right it is a long day but we consider the Milford Road to be one of the most scenic roads in the country. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee what wildlife you will see as much of it is seasonal, making it different every day and cruise, so sorry you were disappointed not to see dolphins or penguins. We do make a conscious effort to ensure the boat is clean and tidy for each cruise. I can only apologise on behalf of the staff member in question if you feel that they did not act appropriately towards you, we pride ourselves on our customer service and this is not acceptable. I hope that in the future you will return to Milford Sound and have a wonderful and enjoyable experience, as it really is a unique and beautiful place.
Kind Regards,
The team at Mitre Peak Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“feeling insignificant....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We choose a smaller cruise which was great, the smaller boat went further into the water falls & closer to the seals than the bigger cruises. (great photo opportunities) We were also lucky enough to see dolphins - the driver not only stopped the boat to allow photos but actually back tracked around the pod for maximum viewing :) The massive mountins will make you feel tiny.
Sadly I (a very poor traveller) didn't fare so well on the bus trip there & had to pay the extra to fly home....
It turned out a great option as our wonderfully skilful pilot (who happened to look a little like prince Harry) provide an awesome smooth take off, flight & landing with unexpected views.
If you can afford to do the fly 1 way option - this makes a complete package

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello!
Thanks for writing such a great review, we really appreciate getting feedback from our customers. It sounds like you had a perfect day out on the water, getting to see the dolphins is amazing! It is unfortunate that you didn’t feel well on the coach, but what an amazing experience flying back to Queenstown – I will certainly pass on the feedback to the pilot! We’re really glad that you managed to have a great day despite feeling a little unwell, and we wish you all the best for the rest of your time here in New Zealand.
Kind Regards,
Mitre Peak Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Available crew, and stunning scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although there are probably no huge differences with the other operators cruising Milford sound, it was nice to benefit from:
- Smaller crowds (not to say virtually empty boat – it was well past peak season) on the boat, so lots of elbow room on the railing
- Available crew (2 people, only catering for about 15 people in all)

Both of these points make the cruise more family like.

Seasick people beware though, a smaller boats means a bit more rocking, although this was by no means deterring when we were there

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us in Milford Sound. It sounds like you had a great trip. It is certainly much quieter during the winter season so you are able to move around freely on the boat, no elbow digging necessary! The crew really enjoy being there to help out and answer any questions you have. Thanks again for your kind review, and we wish you all the best for your travels here in New Zealand.
Kind Regards,
The team at Mitre Peak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitre Peak Cruises also viewed

 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Mitre Peak Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitre Peak Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.