We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong Restaurant
36 Esk St, Invercargill 9501, New Zealand
(03) 218 8531
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 62 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family and I always come to the HONG KONG . Its cheap, you help yourself , eat as much as you like .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Place to Stop By”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We always actually go here when we get really tired walking around town. Food is lovely. I just wish they have monthly flavor assessment to improve food taste.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent food for a decent price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Dined here for lunch on day of arrival. Happened on by chance, set price for all you can eat BUT signs all over restaurant saying if you waste food you must pay for it, which I thought a little cheeky seeing as it is an ALL you can eat at one price restaurant. Besides that, the food was delicious, all hot and fresh, staff a little slow but friendly nonetheless. Visited several times during my stay.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Give the buffet a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We went to the advertised buffet for our evening meal , for a start it was dearer then advertised , the restaurant although seeming to be in a busy area of town was basically empty with a few people picking up take aways . The food in the Bain Marie style serving area was cold with a greasy taste and may have been left over from lunch judging by the poor quality .A large tv was the feature of the restaurant and this combined well with a unattended child [the owners?] playing a noisy game on a mobile phone to create a poor atmosphere .

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Friendly environment. Better suited for group bookings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Friendly environment. Better suited for group bookings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Hong Kong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.