We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the shops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Global Byte Cafe

Global Byte Cafe
150 Dee St, Invercargill 9501, New Zealand
(03) 214 4724
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 63 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Riverton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Convenient for the shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our regular stop for a quick coffee and snack when shopping in Invercargill. Many items on the breakfast menu can be had gluten free and usually a couple of cabinet choices too. Usually a gluten free main course of the day, but generally the same one!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just a little room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We now live in Invercargill, after emigrating coming up a year ago, so Global Byte is a bit of local for us.

The menu is expansive and you always find something to suit you, be it a slice of homemade cake, a panini, a bowl of delicious soup or an amazing good old cook breakfast, my personal favourite is the eggs benedict.

The best thing about the breakfast is the free refill for your chosen hot drink.

The prices are very reasonable, the service is very slick and the over restaurant is clean and tidy.

I do have two slight negative comments, firstly, they sell a really lush sounding honey vegetable quiche that they “warm” up in the microwave, so warm on the outside, scolding on the inside all served on soggy pastry. Not nice at all, which is shame as the quiche is right up my street. Secondly, they seem to be a victim of their own success and have crammed a fair few tables in, which is to the detriment of you having a nice relaxed unhurried coffee.

For quick, tasty meal this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Coffee excellent here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Lovely full and rich coffee here, flat whites recommended. Food very well presented and the choice is tremendous. Easy free parking out the rear door, cant be better!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Friends at Global Byte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I love my coffee and am always guareenteed a great mocha at Global Byte. The service is outstanding the whole team are friendly attentive and makes you feel so welcome. Even under extreme pressure the team maintains professionalism. I recommend GlobalByte anytime you visit Invercargill!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Cafe Under New Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cafe under new management, clean, friendly staff, good coffee and food

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Global Byte Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Global Byte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Byte Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.