We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from Charlotte!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service from Charlotte!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a really pleasant night stay here in a campervan. Bathroom facilities are great - can we suggest that you might need shower curtains (I know they aren't trendy!) as the water tends to spray and wet your clothes. Nice grounds and the dogs are a lovely touch too! Had great service from Charlotte who I believe was looking after the campground in the owner's absence - they obviously know she is up to the job!! Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here in Invercargill.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
It is always a huge help when our guests let us know suggestions and improvements and appreciate you letting us know about the shower curtains.
I have added this to our to-do list for when the owners are back!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here monthly over a four year period and thoroughly enjoyed every visit. Always perfectly presented and a delight to come to at the end of a long day. Being on the edge of town in a country setting made for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Just book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Invercargill TOP 10
Its always great to have regular customers let us know how we are doing and what we can do better
It is always lovely to have such lovely people stay with us on a regular basis and we look forward to having you again sometime soon
See you next time :)

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

lovely management and a very peaceful setting make this Top Ten camp a perfect base for exploring the area. Great cabins and kitchens, good value, cheap internet, a friendly on site dog and very helpful staff, just perfect!

Room Tip: about 7k out of the main town, up a quiet road, easy to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dr Dave E,

thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to review your stay with us at the TOP 10 in Invercargill.
We are pleased you got to met Toby our wee onsite "security guard," he loves to meet all our guests especially around dinner time!
We look forward to having you again in the future

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wow! this has to be the best of 16 Top 10 motel units where we recently stayed at in the South Island. We were 2 mature couples travelling together and wanting to occupy a 2 bedroom unit wherever possible. The locality just out of the main built up area was a welcome change. The 2 bedroom motel was amazing with beautiful furnishings throughout including king beds in each room and high quality bedding and towels. As for the kitchen facilities it rivalled the best of Apartments we have also stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was no problem for them to arrange bookings for us to visit Stewart Island. Excellent value for money. Thank you for making our 2 night stay in Invercargill so pleasurable.

Room Tip: Request a 2 bedroom motel unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear LorRog,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park,
We are pleased you enjoyed our new motel units and in fact they have officially had their one year birthday and we are very pleased with them ourselves :)
Its great to hear you enjoyed your trip to Stewart Island, it is a lovely area to visit especially when the weather isn't too bad.
We hope that we will see you again in the future, and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around NZ

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Friendly welcome,asked if we were interested in ungradeing for a small fee to a unit with a full kitchen, which we did. A very comfortable clean roomy unit. The unit looked new, but was told it wasn't had be repainted & new carpet fitted. I would highly reccomend these units to anyone, it is so good to get a friendly smile on arrival Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Algor50,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park. We really appreciate hearing feedback from our guests.

Yes you stayed in one of our self-contained units which recently had a wee makeover and we love the result so are pleased you do as well. We always try to provide a great experience for our guests so when we have a cancellation for the upgraded unit we always like to offer it to guests that may not have had the chance to book it earlier.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This campsite is located outside of town - basically in the middle of nothing, which makes it real nice and quiet. I was charged for a tent site instead of a powered site, and I felt like the owner was suspicious, but in the end it was all good. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review on your stay here with us at Invercargill TOP 10.
Yes we are 4.5km from the main city centre but there is a supermarket, post office, bank and pharmacy all within walking distance. We pride ourselves on our quiet, rural and tranquil garden setting that all our guests thoroughly enjoy.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Never stayed here, as the accomadation that I wanted was not available. But I guess it was at short notice and at a peak time of the year. But a reply to my email was prompt and other accomadation was available if we were interested. I would stay there in the future, but book accommadion in advance to save disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Kevina,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at Invercargill TOP 10.
I do appologise, it does appear that I uploaded the wrong file into tripadvisor and therefore all email addresses that we have encountered have been asked to review us, as opposed to the guests that actually stayed.

I appologise for the inconvenience but thank you very much for taking the time to review us regardless!
We hope that we can accomodate you in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill TOP 10 is located on the northern edge of New Zealand’s southernmost city. Invercargill is a provincial city with some stunning buildings and shopping and restauraunts as good as cities many times its size but without the problems of parking and getting around. The Southland Coastline is nature at its most raw and can be explored via the Southern Scenic Route. Invercargill is close to Fiordland, Queenstown and the Catlins. It is also the departure point for the Stewart Island ferry and flights.Your hosts, Philip and Diane Todd have created a comfortable and welcoming environment for you to stay whilst visiting Invercargill. Forget traffic noise and settle back in a sheltered and spacious setting a short drive from the city centre in Invercargill's only 4-Star Plus Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.