We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, very clean but far from town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Small, very clean but far from town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a small campervan site that is maintained well. The shower facilities were spotless which is always very important and looked very new. In fact, they actually looked like hotel showers which was very surprising. We cooked in the van as the kitchen facilities near our site were very small and the other was at the opposite end. But we are not ones for using the kitchens really anyway.

The staff were extremely friendly and we got to pick the site we wanted which was great.

Only down side is the distance from the town itself, there is a campervan site in town but if you are happy to be in a quiter area then I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip35, Owner at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park. The quiet setting is one of our points of difference and the great thing about Invercargill is that even though we are on the northern end of town you can drive into the city centre in 5 minutes. We have a great team including cleaners who take pride in giving the best experience for our guests and they will be pleased to read your review. We can all think we are doing a great job but in reality it is down to our customers to decide that and we are glad you enjoyed your time in the deep south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
41
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kontich, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This Top 10 HP is located about 7 km north of Incercargill's centre, in a quiet environment, yet close to the main road. Camper sites are spaceous and well distributed amongst the motel units. The kitchen block is not very big, but more than comfortable. All other amenities are modern and very well maintained, just as the entire holiday park.
Staff is very helpful, and shows you the way to your site.
We first went to Invercargill's i-Site, and where not very much impressed by friendliness of their staff. Yet we wanted to visit Bluff and even succeeded to take the ferry to Stewart Island. Therefore we had to stay in the neighboorhood. And Top 10 HP's staff made us forget the i-Site experience immediately.
To be recommended!

Room Tip: Don't forget to put one of the traffic cones, to reserve your camper site while you're touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Gearoges,

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review on your stay here with us,

Yes we are situated 5kms from the city centre (or a 10 minute drive), however this allows us to have the quiet rural environment our guests and birdlife enjoy.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wow. My sisters and I were given a 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and bathroom for our stay. It was not even 12 months old and was so luxurious that we thought about extending our stay...didn't though. It was a sumptuous apartment and made every other place pale in insignificance. Staff most helpful. Area lovely and quiet. What more can I say...fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Boozybub,

thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Invercargill TOP 10,
we are pleased you enjoyed our new motels and love hearing feedback and suggestions from our guests. The units are now officially a year old and appear to be doing well,
hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a powered site here in November. This site is another special top 10 site in New Zealand, were given the choice of sites to choose here, which is not like most, which in honesty is fantastic because everyone likes different spots. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Invercargill in all honesty wasn’t our favourite place, but is still worth a visit. If you’re going to Invercargill, stop at this top 10!

We also made a friend here, called Kerri. A beautiful black Labrador who lives there, she stopped with us most of the day (Possibly because she loved the little bits of food we were giving her), we absolutely loved her!

Thank you top10 Invercargill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Adsuk,

we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and are very grateful that you took the time to review us on Trip Advisor,
Love the photo of Keri (our token park mascot), yes she enjoys meeting all the guests and introducing her self
Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here for just the one night but found the accommodation (a cabin with queen bed plus bunk) very modern, comfortable, clean, and affordable. The toilet blocks were very close to the cabin and were also modern and clean. The camping ground was close to town and easy to find but has an "in the country" atmosphere. I would stay here again if visiting Invercargill especially if I wanted somewhere cheaper than a motel/hotel but with room for the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here with us at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park.

We pride ourselves on the ability to offer accomodation for every traveller, couple or family on any type of budget, and so are pleased that we were able to met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We opted for this top 10 as it was the closet site to the town.

We were quite disappointed with the facilities. There were 2 kitchens, we cooked in the smaller one. There was no extraction, so condensation ran down the walls and made the floor and every other surface wet. It was freezing cold outside, but we had to open the windows and door. The showers were nicely decorated but again no extraction so steam ran down the walls and wet everything including clothes hung on the back of the door.

The kettle didn't work in the kitchen. We did mention it and it was quickly replaced. The toasted only worked if you held it down. We couldn't find any recycling bins either.

For a Top 10, it felt very basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Being the southernmost city in NZ the weather can at times be challenging as would appear at the time of this review. We do have two kitchens and one has full extraction of moisture caused by cooking. The showers are vented by way of skylights but we try to balance the need for people to keep warm as well as make sure all steam is gone and on the odd occassion in adverse weather there is condensation. We do take recycling seriously and have two stations in the park in very visible places with a third one due to be completed prior to Christmas.
Guest experience is critical to our business and hopefully Debstheleo will get the oportunity to visit when the sun is out and get the change to experience our park in a different light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in a deluxe unit which was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The reception welcome and ongoing assistance was excellent.
My only feedback to the Managers would be that some instructions on how and when to use which remote for the TV would avoid frustrations when things go wrong. Also we wondered why all the product labels had been left on white goods and in the bathroom.
Despite these minor things the Holiday Park was well situated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely feedback on your stay here with us at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park.

Your suggestion regarding the instructions on the T.V remotes is very helpful and we are workign on replacing these instructions with something a bit less technical,

The reason we keep the stickers on the whiteware is so that guests know that the appliances that are utilised in the units are of a high enviromental rating.

We hope you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to having you with us again

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill TOP 10 is located on the northern edge of New Zealand’s southernmost city. Invercargill is a provincial city with some stunning buildings and shopping and restauraunts as good as cities many times its size but without the problems of parking and getting around. The Southland Coastline is nature at its most raw and can be explored via the Southern Scenic Route. Invercargill is close to Fiordland, Queenstown and the Catlins. It is also the departure point for the Stewart Island ferry and flights.Your hosts, Philip and Diane Todd have created a comfortable and welcoming environment for you to stay whilst visiting Invercargill. Forget traffic noise and settle back in a sheltered and spacious setting a short drive from the city centre in Invercargill's only 4-Star Plus Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.