We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but ......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Invercargill Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Invercargill Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Invercargill Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   15 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand (Formerly LivingSpace Invercargill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Budget but ......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very disappointed. We booked a 3 bedroomed apartment. The bedrooms were tidy. But the living quarters ..... carpets had holes, stove top had not been cleaned, basic level of cleanliness. Kettle did not work, no milk, iron & ironing board "should be in the cupboard" but wasn't.
Also the rooms were VERY noisy. As there is no air conditioning you need to have a window open, however the road traffic (yes, even in Invercargill) was horrendous.
I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
28
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cockatoo, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you have a car, book a $5 car space and leave it while you walk everywhere. Outside parking is all timed. The room was small but serviceable with handy kitchenette. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating. The room was basic and had everything I needed. The bathroom was flooded with water when using the shower and there was no way of avoiding it. The cabinet above the sink meant you couldn't comfortably brush your teeth either. There was quite a lot of noise from the rooms alongside and also the wind buffeting the building. The windows had several cracked panes, and could only be opened if you stood on a chair. Heating in each room was sufficient to heat the apartment. Kitchen area was very dark and the noise from the fridge kept me awake at night. The room wasn't serviced despite leaving out the door hanger asking for it to be done. There were cleaning trolleys in the corridor throughout the day. The hallways had a smell like fumes and it wasn't pleasant. Although it was adequate for my stay, and the price was good I would be unlikely to return.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work and I thought the pictures are a bit misleading it is not up to the standard of the photography. Car parking is limited and needs to be booked a head of time otherwise you park on the main road. The floor I was on had a strong smell of flumes and the bathroom fan wouldn't turn off; the room needed some TLC. The staff where polite though.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

From the moment I stepped inside IAH I felt comfortable, safe and new I was going to have a nice stay. This is the place to stay if you are after central location, bright, clean,modern,family orientated and extreme value for money, most of all outstanding good old customer service both front desk and housekeeping. My 1st three nights in a Superior Queen, lovely bright high ceilings, a good size room with all the facilities of a hotel room PLUS toaster, microwave and a decent size fridge. What should be highlighted are the smaller details often overlooked by larger hotels, seating in the hallways (in my case VERY handy) water coolers throughout the hotel, DESIGNATED wheelchair access, power sockets, enough of and well positioned in the rooms, (as well as one in the bathroom) good storage behind the bathroom mirror cabinet, DECENT size fridge. Some complained of water on the floor in the bathrooms, this is the proof of a GREAT high pressured shower, which can be altered to suit by the user!! I also stayed in a 2 Bedroom each room with a TV and huge desk in each room again well positioned power sockets, and ample storage. A small seating area in kitchen. There are FULL dining communal areas on each floor and not far from any of the rooms, if you really felt the need to cook a full meal, each communal area very clean, tidy, dining table chairs, tv and two of them had a sunny BBQ area. In my case my plans changed a couple of times due to medical reason the staff so accommodating in what were anxious times for me, this really was the icing on the cake. C!ar parking is secured at a tiny cost of $5 per day. we never got to use the HUGE cinema and games room but will try to for our next stay. My day trips to Invercargill are over,as I will always try and spend a night here now due to the low cost. GREAT JOB in stepping back to basics, making the small things count by providing a great product,great service and value for money. See you soon!

Room Tip: Pay a small amount more for Larger Studio Queen rooms, sunny bright room (I didnt see all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Got nothing but good things to say about this place, the staff were so helpful, I arrived before check in time, wet, got caught in the rain, staff made a point of getting the room ready, so I could check in early, no problems with the accommodation, it served my purpose, and I would definitely go stay there again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The photos compared to the actual room are nothing alike, the rooms are very small and can't have a shower without getting everything in the bathroom wet. Had a terrible smell from the car park to in the bedroom. Corridors were were like obstacle course with mattress's, cleaning carts and rubbish bags scattered everywhere for majority of the day. Walls are paper thin and could hear people next to us with ease. Only good point was friendly staff. Will be staying else where next time

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Invercargill Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Damian,

I am sorry to hear your stay was not up the levels you expected. I am talking to our housekeeping team to ensure that our corridors are clear from the obstacles you have clearly identified and I appreciate your feedback so we can improve as a property.

Thank you for your feedback and again I am disappointed to read that you felt the property was misleading - everything we represent is done with honesty and sincerity.

Perhaps next time a 1 bedroom apartment would be more suitable, it provides much more space and practicality than a standard studio apartment that you had booked.

Regardless, take care and safe travels.

Ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Invercargill Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill Apartment Hotel

Address: 15 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand (Formerly LivingSpace Invercargill)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Invercargill Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill Apartment Hotel is a 4 Star Self Contained and Serviced Apartment Hotel located in central Invercargill. It offers spacious self-contained apartments, free fitness centre access and an in-house movie theatre. It also offers a games room with a billiards table. The Apartment Hotel is located in the heart of the city within 500 metres from the Southern Institute of Technology and 3 minutes' drive from Splash Palace. It is 7 minutes’ drive from Invercargill Airport. Guests have the following Complimentary Items when staying with us: * GYM Access * In-house Movie Theatre * Corporate Lounge Access * Commercial Kitchen Facilities to Cook Each Day, Breakfast / Lunch/ Dinner * Laundry Facilities * Pool Table with Fussball Table All our rooms have the following: * Kitchenettes with Fridge and Microwave * Tea / Coffee Making Facilities * WIFI and Broadband * Desk with Chair * Queen Bedding * Iron / Iron Board * Tea / Coffee Facilities * Heating and Cooling * SKY TV with in-house Movies * Hair Dryers * Restaurant Chargebacks Accommodation options include studios and 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. All include a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Each has private bathroom facilities with a shower and a hairdryer. There are bars, restaurants and cafes within 2 minutes’ walk. This really is a fantastic property at an even better price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Invercargill Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingspace Hotel Invercargill
Invercargill Apartment Hotel South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invercargill Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.