We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Invercargill Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Invercargill Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Invercargill Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   15 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand (Formerly LivingSpace Invercargill)   |  
Hotel amenities
NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“City centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit that over looked the main street for 2 nights.
The staff were really helpful and the unit was clean.
The movie theatre downstairs was great for the kids to use.
Unit was adequate but the windows were cracked in the bedroom with wide black tape over some of the cracks and not many opened to allow fresh air in. Our bathroom was tiny.
Our elderly parents had a studio unit and they found the fireproof doors hard to open in the building. They would have appreciated another chair in their room so they both could sit down and eat. Swipe cards used for all floors and doors.
Worst thing was the noise from the street during the night. The locals driving up and down with loud music in their cars all through the night on the Sat. 3am must be when the nightclub shuts 4 doors down the street judging by the people walking on the street!
We appreciate the staff but if you don't like loud noise I would not stay on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Tay Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Invercargill Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear BeachFan1

Thank you for your detailed review of the property, it really helps us improve our own standards taking into account your feedback.

On a positive note, I am very happy to read that the property and the staff were up to your standards and the team went our of their way to look after you. Further, our movie theatre is really something totally unique and I am glad your enjoyed the complimentary use of the facility.

I have taken your notes about small work needed at the property into account and we are working hard to rectify these small issues.

In terms of the fire doors, this is a council requirement and something we are unable to avoid and need it for the safety of our guests. Your would have noted our excellent swipe card system.

We are a central city property, as with any property in the middle of the city noise on weekends can sometimes be an issue. We are luckier than others however this may have been a one off even in the city that caused the disturbance.

Take care and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
28
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here over the weekend while visiting friends in Invercargill and going to see Shapeshifter (AWESOME gig) play on the Sunday. We only stayed one night due to having to get back to work, but what a great place to stay.

Lovely and modern, clean and with a nice bit of style to the place. Have stayed in a couple of other places in Invercargill in the past and this is defiantly my pick of the crop. Great location, friendly staff. I really cant find anything to complain about the place. I know where we will be staying next time we visit Invercargill!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Invercargill Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Fraser and Yvette

What a great review our staff are really encouraged by stays such as yours. Our location is terrific for events that happen in the city as we are in the town centre.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rooms are a bit tight but the decor makes up for this. T.V reception poor and internet access is limited.Bathroom. and toilet feel very small. Location is excellent and near to shopping and cafes. Would reccommed for a business traverler staying overnight will wait before recommending for a longer term stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Invercargill Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kerrez,

Thank you for your review and time. I am so glad that you have brought up some valid points that I would like to address as I feel the property has made great strives since your last stay with us in July.

You will be happy to know that we have just introduced the following:

- Flat Screen Tv's with Free-View and crystal clear reception
- High Speed Complimentary WIFI for all guests to enjoy

Our property is one of the best located in town and I am glad you enjoyed the great things it has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

IAH Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Livingspace is not only very reasonable price-wise but also very logical in terms of location and quality. I have stayed in a few hostels in New Zealand for similar prices but this was by far the best. Everything was very clean, we were provided with fresh towels, soaps, etc on a daily basis and our studio apartment was very modern, clean and had a kitchenette, full bathroom and television. Right across the hall there was a large kitchen and dining room where we cooked meals nightly. Livingspace was also very quiet; we always had the kitchen to ourselves and did not have to deal with noisy neighbours.
Location was ideal- a short walk to grocery stores, downtown and the Park. We carried twenty-plus pound backpacks from the Park to the hotel without a problem. The staff was helpful, on call when the front office was closed and very accommodating to backpacking needs.
Altogether, very impressed with our stay, would definitely

Room Tip: Studio room was the perfect size for myself and my partner. The kitchenette was a nice option for qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHManager, General Manager at Invercargill Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Meethebee

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and used the complimentary facilities we offer such as WIFI, GYM and Public Areas to enhance your stay.

We work very hard to ensure our building is always maintained to the highest standards and the staff really appreciate your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

King Regards

Manager IAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Invercargill Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill Apartment Hotel

Address: 15 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand (Formerly LivingSpace Invercargill)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Invercargill Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill Apartment Hotel is a 4 Star Self Contained and Serviced Apartment Hotel located in central Invercargill. It offers spacious self-contained apartments, free fitness centre access and an in-house movie theatre. It also offers a games room with a billiards table. The Apartment Hotel is located in the heart of the city within 500 metres from the Southern Institute of Technology and 3 minutes' drive from Splash Palace. It is 7 minutes’ drive from Invercargill Airport. Guests have the following Complimentary Items when staying with us: * GYM Access * In-house Movie Theatre * Corporate Lounge Access * Commercial Kitchen Facilities to Cook Each Day, Breakfast / Lunch/ Dinner * Laundry Facilities * Pool Table with Fussball Table All our rooms have the following: * Kitchenettes with Fridge and Microwave * Tea / Coffee Making Facilities * WIFI and Broadband * Desk with Chair * Queen Bedding * Iron / Iron Board * Tea / Coffee Facilities * Heating and Cooling * SKY TV with in-house Movies * Hair Dryers * Restaurant Chargebacks Accommodation options include studios and 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. All include a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Each has private bathroom facilities with a shower and a hairdryer. There are bars, restaurants and cafes within 2 minutes’ walk. This really is a fantastic property at an even better price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Invercargill Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingspace Hotel Invercargill
Invercargill Apartment Hotel South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invercargill Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.