We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monarch Motel to your Saves list
Monarch Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 Tay Street (State Highway 1), Invercargill 9810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed one night: management were friendly and helpful, Rooms were very clean, tidy and quiet. Bed was comfortable. The free internet worked well. Short walk from the room to the nearby shops. A little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you Deb for your positive review. We appreciate your comments and returning to stay with us again. Best wishes for your future travels - the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
27
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Monarch for one night when we passed through Invercargill on our South Island tour. Our unit had a "basic" feel to it, but it was warm and comfortable and we liked the separate bedroom. It certainly represented good value for what we paid. Convenient for supermarkets and other shops. We would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities clean & excellent value for your money. Best wishes for future travels - The team at the Monarch Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for a night and found the Management very friendly and accomodating after weather hassles with the airline. Very clean and tidy with very comfortable beds and would drive straight to this motel next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We appreciate your positive feedback & look forward to hosting you again when you return to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My Girlfriend and I are from Cromwell and stayed 2 nights at this motel on April 26th and 27th, We chose this motel because of the price $98 per night and proximity to the local Squash Club. I had entered a squash tournament and me and my girlfriend also wanted a weekend away. The studio unit was clean and spacious, the moteliers friendly and chatty. It was awesome coming back to the motel after playing squash to relax on the comfortable bed, and watch Sky TV and use the free internet.Also Recommend the Rocks restaurant in city center to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We appreciate your positive feed back & choosing to stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your tournament & your stay in Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for one night on April 15, 2013 during our tour of New Zealand. A good motel for a reasonable price. We liked th clean room & bath room. Parking is available. Next to Mcdonalds & gas station. Close to city centre.Good location. Friendly staff. Internet is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your unit & your time in Invercargill & at the Monarch Motel. I must point out that we are not so close to McDonalds but we are very close to a great Chinese Takeaways & Fish & Chip shop - that sells Bluff oysters. We hope the remainder of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this motel as part of the National Model T Vintage Car Club Rally, along with many other "T" enthusiasts. The motel hosts were very accommodating with allowing all the vintage cars to be parked in the grounds for security purposes and there was still enough room for trailers. The 2 bedroom unit we had was very spacious, quiet and scrupulously clean, with an enormous, comfortable double bed, modern decor and facilities. Very good laundry facilities with laundry powder for $1, outdoor clothes line, basket and clothes pegs for use. Easy walking distance to a bakery and four square store and a short drive to a major supermarket complex (that includes an ATM and chemist), bottle store, and petrol station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was our priviledge to have so many beautiful Model T's (and their owners) stay with us for your national rally.
We were thrilled to be able to fit you all in with the additional parking required for the extra cars & trailers.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Monarch and found everything to be spotless and in good working order. The room remained warm despite rain and wind outside, no doubt somewhat due to the double glazed windows in the kitchen and bathroom. Karl and Kerry were wonderfully helpful. Not only was the unit just right, but the parking spots are wide and the internet reliable and fast.

Room Tip: No worries here. Many of the rooms have recently been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your positive review and also taking the time to review some of the other attractions & eating places in Invercargill. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your time in NZ and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monarch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Motel

Address: 633 Tay Street (State Highway 1), Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monarch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If outstanding service and inviting surroundings set in a park-like location are what you're looking for, then experience a little bit of Southern Hospitality with your hosts Karl & Kerry Mariu at the Monarch Motel. With 22 spacious units available, the Monarch Motel suits the corporate traveller or those planning to base themselves in the South while visiting the Catlins, Stewart Island, Riverton, Queenstown & Te Anau. Relax in our Sauna & Spa pool at the end of your busy day. Situated on State Highway 1, just a short walk to Stadium Southland/ Cycling Velodrome, Surrey Park sports facilities, Ascot Park raceway & convention centre. We have clean, modern facilities designed with you in mind. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Monarch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Motel Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.