We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Dessert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emberz Restaurant

Emberz Restaurant
Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road | Ascot Park Hotel, Invercargill, New Zealand
+64 3 219 9076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yummy Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Husband was working New Year's Eve, so went for a meal on 28 December instead. Restaurant was very quiet with few diners, so was very pleasant and we were able to converse in a normal manner. Skeleton staff on but they did a great job. Our mains were very nice and the gingerbread pudding was just yummy! We felt the prices were on a par with most other restaurants of that calibre.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked in for the buffet on Christmas Day with my daughter and we were not disappointed.

A HUGE selection to choose from for both of us, my personal favourite was the seafood chowder and massive selection of breads dips and nibbles from the entree section, and hers was the make your own ice cream sundae bar and all the crackers and chocolate waiting for us at our table!!

Service was excellent, everyone was very cheery and friendly, especially considering it was Christmas Day and very busy

Overall great value for money and no dishes!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mosgiel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had to choose from a set menu but what we had was great. Even the dessert was very yummy and we managed to eat it all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went to Emberz for an evening meal with a friend. We both had the chicken breast. It was lovely, succulent and very tasty. We both felt the price was reasonable. Excellent service, will definitely come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch time meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Randomly saw the lunchtime menu outside Emberz Bar. The lunch menu was comparable to other restaurants and affordable. Food was well cooked and nicely presented. Generous portions. Staff were friendly, and a nice sheltered outdoor area to dine in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emberz Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Emberz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emberz Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.