We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and varied menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saucy Chef on St Andrew

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
St Andrew Street | Adjacent to the Northern Tavern, Invercargill, New Zealand
03 21 71980
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Large and varied menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

It has been a number of years since I was last in Invercargill on a work trip and dining out by myself. I had intended to go to Kings Seafood Restaurant, a bit of a trip down memory lane, only to find this institution had closed. I came across The Saucy Chef on-line so gave it a try. The restaurant is not your usual square Dining room, but a gracious curve with well spaced tables. The service was very good and the menu had good hearty Southland choices - hare, venison for example. I chose the pork chop which had a very tasty sticky sauce drizzled over it with roast vegetables. Very nice presentation and a good size. The pork was perhaps just a bit more cooked than I generally prefer, but it was very tasty. This restaurant also does charge back to a number of Motels. The restaurant was quite busy, but the service was good, especially for a person on their own.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Yum yum yum! We absolutely loved it here. Me and my husband dined here last night, it was so good! We got the breads and spreads for a starter - nice light bread with very tasty spreads. For the main, I got the Hare which was soooo good. The dumplings were so creamy, light and delicious, the risotto was so creamy and filling, and there was so much of it. The Hare was good and cooked well, and the gravy that it was served with it was scrumptious indeed! My husband got the lamb which he raved about. Deserts were good too, especially the blueberry chocolate tart! The Service was great too, all meals were well timed, our waitress was lovely, bubbly and attentive. We would happily dine here again, and I would be more than happy to recommend to others! If you want affordable meals with a good range in their menu, this place is for you!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

out for casual dinner had venison burger it was great and the kumara chips were to die for. deserts are good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Wow. Amazing food. Great ambiance. Very friendly and professional service. I would definitely recommend the Saucey Chef to any friends wanting an affordable and enjoyable meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for pre show Mama Mia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We decided at the last minute to have a meal out prior to the show August 9th The restaurant was heavily booked but we were fitted in to suit our needs for which we were grateful
The beer battered fish was perfectly cooked, nicely presented and amble. One of us had the lamb hotpot was which also was very nice.
Pleasant environment and atmosphere too
Would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.