We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saucy Chef on St Andrew

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
St Andrew Street | Adjacent to the Northern Tavern, Invercargill, New Zealand
03 21 71980
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Wow. Amazing food. Great ambiance. Very friendly and professional service. I would definitely recommend the Saucey Chef to any friends wanting an affordable and enjoyable meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for pre show Mama Mia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We decided at the last minute to have a meal out prior to the show August 9th The restaurant was heavily booked but we were fitted in to suit our needs for which we were grateful
The beer battered fish was perfectly cooked, nicely presented and amble. One of us had the lamb hotpot was which also was very nice.
Pleasant environment and atmosphere too
Would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our motel said that The Saucy Chef is one of the best in Invercargill, and I'd have to agree. The service was excellent, with a good choice on the menu. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a reasonably priced lovely meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Saucy Chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Recently a couple of girlfriends and I enjoyed a mid week evening out at the Saucy Chef. We enjoyed the ambience of being able to sit and enjoy a pre dinner glass of wine in one of several different seating arrangements. Especially popular is the west lounge where you can relax on a comfy sofa and bask in the last of the evening sun,.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Taranaki, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The motel owner where we were staying recommended this place. We couldn't fault it, lovely meals and about right prices. Service was great

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.