We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Units at Balmoral Lodge Invercargill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Balmoral Lodge Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Tay St, Invercargill, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Nice Family Units at Balmoral Lodge Invercargill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband, 2 children (12 & 9 yrs.), & I stayed at the Balmoral Lodge Motel in Invercargill from 20 - 22 March. The spacious 2-bedroom ensuite family unit with kitchen was very nice and only about 5-minutes from the town center. It was reasonably priced and even provided coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and a small container of milk to accompany these drinks. Laundry services were also available.

We spent two hours of the morning hiking the Bluffs (about 30-minute drive away) to the lookout and back around the ocean path. There was also a Maritime Museum at the Bluffs. Of course, you could also take a boat to Stewart Island, but we couldn't fit it in this trip. The remainder of the day, we toured the Southland Museum and Art Gallery with the Tuataruium. All in all, a nice day with nice lodging in Invercargill.

  • Liked — Spacious, Clean Unit
  • Disliked — 5-minutes from town center, No Views
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
14
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

This motel was not fancy and the decor may be a little out of fashion but the property was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and the room was enormous. Large bath as well with a separate room for the toilet. The room had a fridge and kitchette with a sink but no stove top. Large LCD tv in the room as well. I think we paid about NZ$100 or NZ$110 for the night. In short, it may not be the Ritz Carlton, but if you are looking for a nice, clean, reasonably priced place to crash, this place is great.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

We arrived in Invercargill on a wet, freezing night. Even though it was late January (our summer) it was less than 10 degrees C. We booked through the information service and frankly any ideas of shopping around had long departed. We got the last apartment here and it was OK. I have to acknowledge that while I loathed it - largely because even with the heat on downstairs was freezing - everyone else liked it. This complex looks great from the outside: it's freshly rendered and painted. I think there are some new luxury units but DO CHECK. Our unit was pure 1970s. It was like an old ski lodge with pine everywhere and an avocado spa bath. The bedrooms overlooked the yard of the house next door. On the plus side the kids loved the mezzanine level with a double bed and a SECOND TV with Sky! Happiness! That area was warm and cosy with all the heat going up there and electric blankets on beds. I didn't like the second bedroom which was glacial in temperature and had its light switch OUTSIDE its door. There was also a single bed downstairs with lounge room furniture, a good kitchen with full crockery, glasses etc. The overall impression was a rather dingy, dated place in need of an overhaul. I found it dark and oppressive. The handle to the front door was damaged so it had to be kept locked. It was however at the back of the complex so we didn't get much traffic noise. Many of the motels are on the very busy and noisy Tay Street. OK for overnight but with the wealth of accommodation in Invercargill better can be found, especially for $140 per night.

  • Liked — Second TV for kids
  • Disliked — Coldness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

This is a really fine motel. The units are on two levels, with the bedroom upstairs and spacious living/dining/kitchen downstairs with the bath and dressing area behind. I found it very quiet and comfortable. It's a little bit outside the town center of Invercargill. If you don't want to drive or to fix your own dinner, then "Wendy's roast dinners to takeaway" is just across the street and provides adequate homestyle food.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Address: 265 Tay St, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Balmoral Lodge Motel Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.