We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Balmoral Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Motel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Tay St, Invercargill, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Invercargill
Chobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We are a family of 4 with 2 young children and had to visit Invercargill recently for a couple of weeks from the UK. We needed somewhere spacious and comfortable for us and the kids to settle in on our long tour. We had a 2 bed unit which was really spacious, modern, clean comfortable & quiet. We found that having a flat screen TV in each bedroom and the lounge a real bonus. As it was winter I was a little concerned after our chilly experience in Christchurch that we would be cold here also but it's so toasty that we were constantly turning the thermostat down! Everything you need is here and it is very convenient for parks, swimming and the city. The Balmoral staff are very friendly and helpful, it just made our stay very enjoyable.
Thank you again and I would recommend The Balmoral Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate hearing such great comments. We hope that we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
13
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I don’t get to Invercargill very often, given the far-flung proximity of my home town at the other end of the “other” island. When I do, sadly it is only for business with hardly enough time to get down to the local supermarket for a couple of dozen Bluff oysters. A heinous crime of omission if missed.

However having somewhere like the Balmoral has given me second thoughts about dragging the Boy down here for a few days to explore the area and of course, eat some oysters.
I have probably stuck my head on the pillow here half a dozen times in as many years after my good mate and South Island-based work colleague introduced me to the 38-room motel.

If there was check list from your tutor at an advanced course of ‘What makes a great Motel - 101?’ then the Balmoral and Adam and Jo-anne Harris were probably the benchmark for it.
The list is long - Generously proportioned rooms, cleaner than clean interiors, wonderfully large bathrooms with excellent showers and spa baths, comfortable furniture and a decent desk area for a bit of work. It goes on... In fact this last trip we were about to head out for dinner after a long day on the road when we decided to pick up something to cook ( and yes, oysters were involved) close the curtains to the wind funnelling up Tay Street, and settle in for a night in front of the television. Let me tell you there are not many motels that I would do that in.
Yet it is not just the obvious elements of a stay that the Balmoral has down pat. It is more than that. Adam and Jo-anne Harris just “get” the personal side of this industry. They are the most obliging people in a business where owner/operators have more often than not forgotten the meaning of the word Hospitality. There is a strong element of that good old fashioned South Island honesty, forthrightness and humour and in addition to that they will help you with anything at all.

These are the reasons that my friend keeps returning and why one day I will be dragging the Boy 1633 kms to stay here and of course, eat some oysters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The Balmoral was a little gem. The staff were great & our 2 bedroom apartment was huge. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Enjoyed a great spa room for our wedding anniversary, clean tidy and warm, the cookie time biscuits are a nice touch. Spa bath is great, easily fits two people, unlike some other hotels we have stayed at. Good location, handy to town.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for the spa bath rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Balmoral Lodge is in a good position, just a few minutes by car into the centre of town, could walk, probably 15 minutes.
The motel is of a townhouse design, with the bedroom, upstairs. Bedroom, lounge room and bathroom are all of good size, clean and quiet. Comfortable bed. This configuration could be a problem for people with mobility issues.
The staff were really friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I were half-way through our 10-week visit to NZ.
We were impressed, first and foremost, by the greeting at Reception: friendly, professional, no-fuss, helpful with restaurant suggestions (a plus!) and any tourist queries. Lovely landscaped motel, on main road (with friendly resident cat!). The unit we were assigned to had a mezzanine where the beds were (1 queen, 1 single). Very comfortable beds and nice linens. Ample space on the main floor for all of our luggage, Kitchenette very well-equipped, bathroom also. Laudry room, bright with iron and board (as in unit), with free washer and coin-operated dryer as well as a clothesline nearby for guests's use. Parking outside front door.
The 2 nights we were there, there was a smell of what I can only think of was tar outside, but that's not the Motel's fault, it could be from something nearby, but we had to close all windows at night for that reason. The Motel is on a main road, so that could be the reason, a minor thing but it did affect the through breeze we usually like!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hi There,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us (although it was a shame about the tar smell). We hope you enjoyed your trip around NZ and we would love to see you again if you come down this way in the future :o)
Kind Regards,

Anna
Receptionist
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have been staying at the Balmoral Lodge, fortnightly, now for many years. as someone who is on the road 48 weeks a year it is important to have a great place to stay at the end of the day The Balmoral and it's staff tick all the boxes! The hospitality is first rate with friendly helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. I would highly recommend them as comfortable and friendly place to stay for any business traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We really appreciate the feedback and we strive to continue to be successful in providing great accommodation to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmoral Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Address: 265 Tay St, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Balmoral Lodge Motel Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.