We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel unit at the Ascot Park Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ascot Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
christchurch
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Motel unit at the Ascot Park Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the motel units at the Ascot Park Hotel at the beginning of March. Had intended to stay in one of the hotel rooms, but when I saw the price of the motel units on the website, ended up booking one of these instead. Units are dated, but large and clean. No traffic noise, but very thin wall between units, so we could hear all the conversations from the nextdoor unit. Ok value for what you get. Handy to the hotel if you want to use their bar or restaurant, which we didn't. Location was very good for us, but it is not handy to the centre of Invercargill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    81
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
64
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We film a TV Fishing Show in Melbourne, Australia. We were recommended to contact Peter Risdale, Executive Manager of Ascot Park Hotel in Invercargill on the South Island of New Zealand. From to moment we spoke with Peter, he was so helpful and keen to ensure we had a fantastic time. The accommodation was first class and the food was excellent. Peter also gave us the best tourist advice and put us in touch with quite a few contacts for fishing, site seeing, cruises and much more. We had the best time we have ever had on a fishing trip/holiday, and certainly our best experience ever in New Zealand! This was our third time to NZ. If you are contemplating a trip to New Zealand, you cannot go past the wonderful hospitality of Peter Risdale and his staff at the Ascot Park Hotel. We highly recommend the Ascot Park Hotel.
Eric Morgan and Brian Sanders, That's Fishing TV Productions, Australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Being in Invercargill over the weekend for a weekend we booked into the Ascot Park Hotel as that is where the wedding reception was to be held. We had previously booked on line and checked in on arrival.

What a great surprise. The room was a double with full sized bathroom complete with spa bath and shower, a full kitchen. A queen bed in the lounge, a king single and a king in the separate bedroom gave plenty of options.

The reception was superb with every detail taken care of. The food was superb, the wines of high quality and entertainment. Sure the wedding party paid for the reception, but the service was excellent.

I would recommend the Ascot Park Hotel as a place to stay, to dine and to enjoy hen next in Invercargill.

My wallet was also thrilled as the room rate was $174 per night for a high quality hotel.

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings-New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stopped here (Invercargill) with no bookings made - and decided to stay the night. We rang the Ascot Park Hotel to enquire re Pricing/availablility and meal options.
Were offered a motel room at a very reasonable price and told that the pub meals were great value.
Well- the room was great - thou 70's era,very clean/large and comfortable,quite -very spacious also.
Went to the bar,where the staff were great,and had a fantastic meal (blue cod)
Recommend!!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared well located,thou feel our room was more private than some of the others,table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here one night. The motel is a little out of town but it is a straight drive into the center. The rooms are a reasonable size and we had a real bath. There are a dozen or so TV channels available. Guests can use the hotel facilities. There is a restaurant, a sports bar, and pool. Internet is not available in the motel rooms (it is in the hotel rooms) and vodaphone reception with a dongle is poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We used this hotel for a stop over between Dunedin and Te Anua. It exceeded our expectation. The rooms are large, well equipped with a large bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We used the bar for drinks and bar snacks which were excellent. The buffet breakfast was also good with a good choice available.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and the staff gave us one without any problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days in the Motel part - fantastic! Arrived very late in the evening having driven from Dunedin airport - staff were great. Room bigger than what we expected - deal that we saw online - definitely would stay again! Restaurant & staff great - easy access to hotel facilities & the Unit met & exceeded our expectations. Maybe an exhaust fan in bathroom would be an idea & aircon. But no complaints - it was at an inbeatable rate! Thank you Ascot Park - we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.