We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hosts, sufficient room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Tayesta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Tayesta to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Tayesta
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   343 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Canberra
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hosts, sufficient room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way to Te Anau. We arrived very late because the drive to Invercargill was longer than we expected from Dunedin and the owners had stayed late and had even prepared a note so that we would still be able to get to our rooms.

For the price this is a respectable place to stay with everything you would need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
21
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was very quite, had a nice homey feel to it, with a small kitchen, living room and separate bedroom, all very clean and modern. The owners were welcoming and helped out with good tips for the area. We forgot to buy a small container for food and asked the owners if they happen to have any. In the morning they told us they searched and in fact had it ready for us which we found very considerate and nice of them! Location wise, there are several restaurant near the motel and a big supermarket a short drive away. It was perfect for a good nights rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wonderful ! The lovely owners can not do enough for you. The rooms feature a queen in the bedroom and a single in the living room. All facilities have been upgraded and renovated, new kitchens, bathrooms, linens, furniture. Everything is sparkling and new, immaculately clean. Just lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We've just returned home from Invercargill where we had a really great stay at the Tayesta Motel on Tay st. The room we had was spacious, warm and very comfortable and the bed was really good.
We can thoroughly this motel to anyone wanting a home away from home in Invercargill. The owners were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them during our stay.

Room Tip: Our room which was number 7 was really great and we would choose it again, but they all looked prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very Very Clean unit. Stayed in number 7. Laid out well. Shower very powerful. Great water pressure. New Kitchen Bathroom. Decor lovely. T.V. on bracket so you can watch from bedroom or lounge. Awesome Spa. Recommend. Value Plus

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn Tayesta when were were over in New Zealand Catching up with Family. The rooms have recently been updated and are very nice, our room was very clean. The bathrooms have also been updated and the showers are lovely, has to have been the best shower i have used in a Hotel. The customer service was excellent they were lovely and accommodating.
Thanks
For a Great stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The room we had this year had just been updated and was really good (OK, it was good last year but it is better now). While a little out of town there are restaurants within walking distance and a couple of take aways very close.

And, although it looks to be on a main road, it is set back and there was no traffic noise.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Tayesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tayesta

Address: 343 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Tayesta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Mostly ground-floor apartment-style units all with Free WIFI and LCD TVs with 50+ channels (Sky Guest Select service). The units are warm and quiet (double glazed). The 1 and 2-bedroom units have kitchens and the Studios have kitchenettes. All have complimentary tea and coffee, sparkling bathroom facilities and Guest controlled heating. Free parking. Extras include Cooked and continental breakfast, access to the guest Hot Tub (spa pool), restaurant charge-back and delivery, guest laundry, children's play area. DVD player cot and highchair by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Tayesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Invercargill
Comfort Inn Tayesta Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Tayesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.