We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Batch Cafe

The Batch Cafe
173 Spey Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
+64 3-214 6357
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Come in and soak up the sun on our comfy couches, try our delicious treats baked fresh daily or something sensational from our menu - chocker with local cuisine. The Batch Cafe has been voted Best Cafe in Southland 2011.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My go-to cafe for brunch or lunch. You can always get something delicious at this cafe, from light lunch meals, to gourmet sandwiches/paninis/baguettes to yummy sweet treats. On my most recent visit I had the tea smoked salmon. I love salmon but often find smoked salmon can be too overpowering by the end of the meal. This one however was delicious from beginning to end. Plenty of salad and a good sized (small) potato or kumara rosti underneath. Hollandaise sauce served on the side so I could add as much as I liked. Absolutely delicious. Would definitely have it again. Highly recommend the friands, lemon curd slice and the smoothies also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    40
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Dining & Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a wonderful cafe to relax and enjoy fine food. Great staff and always very obliging and helpful. Definitely one of the best in Invercargill so don't leave town without visiting here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We took the family for lunch during their visit south, and were over-come by the reception and light entertainment. Open all day, from breakfast, to dinner, The Batch Cafe offers a good selection of food and drinks, (alcoholic and non-alcoholic). Ideal for a 'snack n chat' with a mate; business colleague, or the family 'get together'.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place for coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

staff very good, good fun had here, nice coffee, very tidy place, will visit again soon, well done to all the staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Cafe to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It never gets much better than Batch, The friendly welcome and the fact that you get a friendly welcome every time you come through the door. The coffee is sublime, the loose leaf tea selection divine (lovely not to be offered a teabag) and the freshly baked scones, brioche and baking 'literally walk out the door'. The blackboard menu features locally sourced products, freshly caught Stewart Island salmon and Foveaux Strait blue cod daily and gourmet Leelands lamb are key ingredients. Don't miss Gareth's sensational chowder. Friday evenings with a Smoked Salmon board and a glass of Central Otago pinot and Matt on guitar - it doesn't get any better. Gareth, Kate and Donna have a winner here!! Supreme National Winner awards back that up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Batch Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Batch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Batch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.