We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duo Restaurant - CLOSED

Duo Restaurant
16 Kelvin Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
03-218 8322
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Otago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you are looking for a nice place to relax and dine out Duo is a good choice in Invercargill. Good service and great food. No better combination.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finest cuisine in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Atmosphere great. Personalised friendly service. Food to die for from a very inviting menu

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good dinner: plentiful too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Chose this restaurant from TripAdvisor summaries.
I was a little taken-a-back when I first laid eyes on the site but initial impressions were misleading. And anyway, I came to eat, not look?
Nice home-made cauliflower soup, with garlic bread, almost a meal in itself.
Ordered a steak, cooked just fine, with pok choi & mash but I could not finish the main. Good food but too much for me that night. I doubt you will starve in Duo?
The only negative.... Why is a noisy glass dishwasher in the restaurant section making its unpalatable racket...?
Had a good meal at Duo, the food & wine is cheap compared with Queenstown. I would go back again quite happily (but I'd unplug the washer!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Four of us dinned at Duo and we all found our meals to be delicious. I especially enjoyed my dessert, Creme Brule, it is the best I have tasted. The service was outstanding. Fiona was efficient, friendly and knowledgable about the wines on offer. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming on a cold, windy night. My only gripe it was slighty overpriced but still we felt it was value for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Food overpriced. Decor old. Not comfortable seating. Food felt like it had been microwaved. Had eel and it was so chewy. Could not even get knife through.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.