We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME DAY....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures

Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures
17 Main Street | Otautau, Invercargill 9610, New Zealand
+64 3-225 8174
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AWESOME DAY....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Roffy was fantastic....I couldnt stop smiling!!!! Thanks Roffy for my extra showers!!!
Tim from Whangarei..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Cheers for that Debbie, We also had a great bunch of people to share the day with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ryegate, vt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Epic Ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Wairaurihiri Jet Boat ride is a fantastic ride and a wonderful way to experience a remote portion of Fiordland National Park. You get spectacular views of the mountains around Lake Hauroko and then a thrilling ride down the Wairaurihiri River through the native forest, to the sea! Johan, the Jet Boat operator, gives a great ride and tour, explaining some of the geology, history, and ecology of the area along the way. Then there is a wonderful lunch at the lodge not far from the sea and the trip back is just as thrilling as the trip down. It's a much richer experience than other jet boat rides in my opinion and just loved it. My family loved it too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Action Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

In January my husband and I and family of four had the ride of a lifetime up the Wairaurahiri River to Lake Hauroko from Waitutu Lodge. The River threw everything it had at us from hail and rain to sunshine which made the experience even more memorable. Paul Roff was experienced, safe and reliable as our driver and it was a perfect end to our coastal walk from the Tuatapere road end to Port Craig and along the viaducts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Hump Ridge Jet Wairaurahiri River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A fantastic day jetting with Paul Roff from Lake Hauroko down the Wairaurahiri River to the Tasman Sea and back, complemented with a helicopter ride over the southern fiords. Felt absolutely safe in the hands of Paul who knows that river in the back of his hand! Nor is Paul a skilled river boat driver but he is also a fabulous cook...a feast prepared for a queen! This certainly highlights my 6mos locum GP stint here in Otautau.

To all from Otautau and surrounding Southland, you are the best kept secret...it has been my privilege to have served as your GP...will never forget you and the memories you gave me.

Thank you Paul.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

11 enthusiastic seniors (some in there 80's) out on an adventure of their lifetime. A fantastic boat trip down the very full river and a return walk into the Percy Burn viaduct. All in one day!
If you enjoy life, want to see amazing scenery and experience a walk of a lifetime - then this is the trip - don't leave it - book it and enjoy a fantastic host and skilled boat driver/pilot. Take your camera. This is totally recommended - I've now done this twice and planning a 3rd!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks very much for your review, Its a great way to see the Percy burn Viaduct and the Francis burn and Edwin Burn as well. Starting with the jet boat ride down the Wairaurahiri River walking into the viaducts then return back up the river to Lake Hauroko jetty and home. Great to see such a diverse age group getting out there and just doing it! well done; Cheers Roffy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Tuatapere, Southland Region
 

Been to Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humpridge Jet Wairaurahiri Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.