We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good shop to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of E Hayes and Sons - The World's Fastest Indian

E Hayes and Sons - The World's Fastest Indian
168 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
+64-3-218-2059
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is E. Hayes ans sons Hardware store also known as Hammer Hardware. It is where the famous Indian motorbike is kept. The display of old bikes and things from the past is well and truly worth seeing. The movie " The Fastest Indian" starred Anthony Hopkins.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good shop to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

if you want to see old cars, bike including Burt Munro's bike, old stage shop, very good stafrf, worth a visit on the main st

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    45
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Treasure trove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you want to visit a working shop/museum - then this will kepp you occupied for hours. Brilliant place to shop and if they haven't got what you want in hardware - then it possibly isn't available.
A must for anyone heading south.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a great shop, We've visited this store twice, not only does it sell hardware its also a camping store, clothing, kitchenware and gift shop plus its a museum and tribute to Burt Munro (The Worlds Fastest Indian) and bikes and cars from a past era all rolled into one, the staff are very friendly and knowledgable. Here you will see Burts original bikes, parts, shoes etc he used...Absolutely fantastic..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

had a display of motorcycles and vehicles and is a store with a bit of everything from camping to homewares and hardware. I south some goods from the camping department and found the staff had quite poor produce knowledge and weren't that helpful to point you in the right direction to another retailer, which i found were close by.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
14,680 helpful votes 14,680 helpful votes
“The Reason for our drive to Invercargill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband wanted to see Burt Monro's "Fastest Indian" so we traveled a bit out of our way. The hardware store was definitely NOT a disappointment. It has the bike, but it has SO much more. There is an entire room filled with interesting items that I looked at. My husband was pleased with the find. All of the staff was more than helpful and pleasant to us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E Hayes and Sons - The World's Fastest Indian also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to E Hayes and Sons - The World's Fastest Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E Hayes and Sons - The World's Fastest Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.