We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
9 Drysdale Road | Myross Bush, Invercargill, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay with Pat and Frank who are terrific hosts. Very comfy bed, lovely room (the gold room), great breakfast, beautiful setting. Pat even posted my bathrobe home to Australia at no charge when I left it hanging on the door. Would definitely revisit!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfer1960, Owner at The Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your review Joanne.We both enjoyed having you stay.pleased your parcel arrived safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the twin room with en-suite. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. We appreciated having a sitting area just outside the room. The breakfast was very good and the hosts were friendly and keen to assist their guests

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfer1960, Owner at The Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks Anton for your review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were very kindly offered a free upgrade to a much larger room upstairs with an ensuite bathroom, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The B&B is outside the city centre, making it a really quiet, peaceful and relaxing countryside retreat, yet close enough to be able to enjoy the city sights and the famous Bluff oysters. The room itself is huge, with a very comfortable bed and a much appreciated electric blanket as well. Everything was very clean, tastefully decorated with great amenities including a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities as well. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Pat and Frank were really friendly hosts, and even brought us to see their sheep and hens after breakfast, which was a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I arrived when Pat and Frank were not there, but they had left everything in place for me. Pat had even prepared a lovely complimentary light dinner :) They met me as soon as they arrived for a very welcoming chat.
The upstairs room I got was lovely, with views over the fields with the lambs playing. There was a fridge on the landing, with tv and dvds as well. The bed was ver comfy and there was free wifi.
The only thing was that the downstairs bathroom had a big bath with no handle, so there's no choice, you can't have a shower !
Breakfast was great, with everything I could have asked for.
Frank even let us feed the lambs in the morning before leaving. The B&B is in the countryside, though not far from Invercargill. With a GPS, it is easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had the two upstairs bedrooms with a 'jack and Jill' shared bathroom. However, on the first night, we were able to use the downstairs bathroom too, which had a nice large bath. Pat and Frank were great hosts and the breakfasts were excellent.

The accommodation was very comfortable:
Beds ... Very comfortable / space good
Kitchen ... Small area with tea/coffee making facilities
Fridge ... small freezer compartment
Milk provided ... Jug in fridge
Lounge ... Small but adequate (there was another guest area but we didn't use it)... Comfortable two-sweater sofa and a couple of chairs
Breakfast ... Included and cooked to choice - excellent! ... Great fruit too
Bathroom ... Shower only / no bath ... Size Ok
TV ... Didn't use the TV but there was a good selection of DVDs, one of which we watched
Wifi ... Complimentary and reasonably quick
Restaurants ... None close by but Invercargill centre is a short drive ... We used Buster Crabbs and Waxy O'Sheas
Parking ... Guest area, off-road
Other ...
Pat kindly did a load of washing for us and dried it ... Complimentary and very very helpful
Both Pat and Frank are very friendly people and sit down with guests for a chat over breakfast ... their breadth of farming and local knowledge is fascinating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday, after a happy, tiring day exploring the West Coast. Found the B & B nice, spacious, clean, great gardens and very friendly couple. We would recommend it to anyone who needs some r & r on a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfer1960, Manager at The Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated. Come and stay again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pat and Frank made Invercargill for us. Loved the breakfast and the beautiful location. Could not ask for better hosts. The kids loved the farm especially feeding the lambs and chasing the chooks. Mum and Dad loved the local knowledge and hospitiality

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfer1960, Owner at The Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Manor.
We enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Drysdale Road | Myross Bush, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Bed And Breakfast Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.