We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Exceeded Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial on Tay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial on Tay to your Saves list
Colonial on Tay
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   335 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Motel Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We are a family of 5 adults and needed a home for 4 days. The 2 bedroom motel we booked at Colonial on Tay was perfect. Clean, modern, big and roomy. It was serviced every day which we hadn't expected and what was really great was the lovely selection of teas every day and even plunger coffee sachets.

The shower was good with plenty of hotwater and pressure. The beds were comfy with efficient electric blankets. The lounge had a big heater which we needed as well.

The kitchen was well appointed and there were plenty of utensils, plates, cups and glasses.

The shared laundry was adjacent and for $6 a load to wash and tumble dry or line dry including soao powder was good.

The location was good - $8 taxi ride to town and just 5 minutes drive.

The hosts were very friendly and always available. We will definitely stay at this motel again on our next visit to Invercargill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed for one night when passing through Invercargill to Te Anau. Owners were friendly and welcoming. The unit was large with a lounge dining area, fully equipped kitchen and good sized bedrooms. Even though the motel is on the main road there was no traffic noise in the room and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Need to stay in Invercargill
For more than just a day?
You need to look no further
Than Colonial on Tay

The hosts are warm and friendly
And most obliging too
What e'er you need, they'll do their best
To sort it out for you

The motel's near the CBD
Queen's Park and other sights
Christine and John will give you hints
'Bout where to dine at nights

Mine host took me out cycling
I thought that really neat
To have a guided tour on wheels
A very special treat

For families, pets and working folk
This is the place to stay
Don't hesitate, decide the dates
And book it right away


A fabulous week at a motel which felt so very comfortable and welcoming. Thank you ever so much C and J...we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This motel is extremely clean and tidy. We arrived without notice due to a cancellation with another motel and could not have got a nicer reception. They went out of their way to ensure we were all comfortable and throughout our stay were consistently helpful and friendly. The location is great - very handy to town and a great fish shop down the road that sells fresh crayfish and cooks them for you. Next time we come to Invercargill this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
574 helpful votes 574 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

A family suite with 5 beds for NZ$120 - this was one of the bargains of our NZ tour! Lots of space for the 2 of us, very helpful proprietors who guided us to a super restaurant (Elegance at 148 on Elles), and to a nearby church on the Sunday morning. Not too far to the town centre as well.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We stayed here for one night enroute to Stewart Island. The cottage we got was the 2 bedroom unit (room number 5 from memory).

It was a clean, comfortable neat little unit. Unit was tastefully decorated and the ambience felt like you were at Nana's home.

The bedding was comfortable the shower/toilet was clean. This unit had a kitchen facility (which we requested on booking) and the hotel hosts were terrific.

Hotel was just off the main highway and it was close to service stations and grocery shops. This was ideal as we were cooking our food that night rather then going to a restaurant.

The night we stayed there, Invercargill was cold due to it going into the winter season. But the room was warm and the beds had electric blankets - which was excellent!

Room was also reasonably priced - and would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers. I would definately stay there again

  • Liked — Tidy / Clean / Nice hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

I have nothing but good things to say about The Colonial Motor Inn and its management.

I, my two young sons, a friend and my mother stayed here in a two bedroom unit during a very sad time in our lives, and upon finding out what had happened to us, the management pulled out all the stops for us. Christine (the owner and manager) allowed me to use her personal computer to pay bills online, they brought breakfast to our room, everything was spotless, comfortable and functional. Christine also helped me with everything from the washing, directions and food recommendations to finding packing materials for sentimental items that needed protecting on the flight home.

There was plenty of space for five people, and the beds are clean, comfy and have electric blankets. There is a large cupboard space and bedside tables. It's a perfect home away from home, with a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and everything a person could ever need.

I only regret not having written this review sooner and I hope that Christine gets to read it.

I would recommend the Colonial for anyone wishing to stay in Invercargill and I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — The absolutely wonderful owners
  • Disliked — nothing, loved it all
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial on Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial on Tay

Address: 335 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial on Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Colonial on Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial On Tay Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial on Tay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.