We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 388 on Tay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
388 on Tay
Save
You added 388 on Tay to your Saves list
388 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Alexandra, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We loved staying here - very clean & modern room. Also snuggly warm with a comfortable bed. Service was excellent - think it was Dianna who checked us in. She was lovely - friendly & helpful. Definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Dianna and Keith were most entertaining hosts. 50+ TV which allowed us to watch 6 Notions Rugby. Room spotlessly clean and comfortable. Car parking easy. Room quiet despite being near to main road. good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Modern motel, a bit of a stroll to town but not too far to walk. I always have a car so I have no real concerns about location. Quiet motel on the main road. Warm with spacious rooms. Friendly and helpful. I have been staying in Invercargill for the past 11 years and so far this is the best value for money motel that I have found.

Room Tip: I always ask for rooms away from the road, so far I haven't been dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

well appointed rooms, spotless, comfy beds. Close to town and sports centers. we stayed just 2 nights, would definitely stay again, new motel, beds lovely!
recommend to anyone. Hosts lovely, and welcoming

Room Tip: all good rooms, on a main road, but didnt notice any noise, excellent well run motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked a motel room here after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious, with king sized bed, kitchen and bath with both shower and tub. Everything was clean and well-maintained. Wi-fi was free. Staff was friendly. We arrived on bikes on a wet, misty day and were given a room with a whirlpool bath. The location is on the main highway going to Dunedin, but the room was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We echo all the wonderful comments that other reviewers have made. Absolutely awesome owners - couldn't believe it was 6 years old. Room was immaculate thoughtfully decorated and kitchen equipped with everything. Reasonably priced for high season and quiet. Loved being able to do a little laundry and Dianna generously let me have a bit of space of their private line. Just a few minutes walk to grab a lovely bottle of wine and short drive to CBD. Bed sooo comfortable. Thank you Keith and Dianna your business and yourselves are an absolute asset to Invercargill.

Room Tip: Would ideally request rooms further from road to ensure quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

all round amazing, the owner/operators husband/wife team are awesome, friendly helpful and kind... the 1 bdrm spa unit we had was by far the best place we have stayed in along time. roomy , big, clean, warm, quiet friendly are all words that come to mind plus it was very reasonably priced. . . best sleep i have had for ages too. great pillows and super comfy super king bed... thanks guys i wish all motels were like this one..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 388 on Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 388 on Tay

Address: 388 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
388 On Tay Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 388 on Tay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.