We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Motel to your Saves list
Bavarian Motel
444 North Rd, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

John and Amanda are great hosts, with a motel unit to suit your pocket and requirements. We always find the furniture very comfortable. Love the big comfortable beds, which is so important when you are on the road all the time. The motel is in a great location, not far from a supermarket if you wish to cook your own meals. And great when you are heading off to/towards Queenstown.

Room Tip: Tell John and/or Amanda what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks Miriam for the kind words. At the end of a long working the least we can offer is a bit of comfort and relaxation. You are always welcome at Bavarian Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Maybe it's just invercargill! But I found the accommodation rather average. It was promoted as 4 star and I've been to a lot of places before this was no 4 star accommodation. The couches were very uncomfortable and the bathrooms felt like a prison cell as the toilet and shower shared the same flooring and it felt like you could just be hosed off in it. On a plus side there was a faint trace of Internet that you could use and a small portion of food for breakfast as well As parking outside the unit and sky channels. Just like to know what I'm in for as the standard of 4 star accommodation is a bit different elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our accommodation. I have checked the records and you used the internet without any problems, it appears. The lack of quality and comfort of the couch has not been brought to our attention before, (maybe guests are too polite to say). However, we always listen and will review our future purchases of furniture. Qualmark NZ is an independent organisation which assesses NZ accommodation and we are assessed annually for our standards. Bavarian Motel has been awarded 4+Star for the last 6 years. It would be great if you (hetrogenius) could remove the photo of the outside-garden view, as it is not our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Clean tidy accommodation at a reasonable price. A little bit out of town but not a problem as we have to drive everywhere anyway. Friendly helpfull hosts

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
It is always nice to meet great guests. Thanks for the great comment. We hope you make Bavarian Motel your choice next time you visit Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Although a little north of the centre of Invercargill, the unit was very good and comfortable. Everal choices of breakfast is required and not too pricey. Free Internet which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Annabel & John would like to thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Invercargill's Bavarian Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

My wife and I have travelled widely and this place would be near the top of our list. I also am a university lecturer in tourism so perhaps look at situations quite critically but have absolutely no problems with this one !
thanks folks

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner operator at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and your great comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

a lovely 2 bedroom apartment - clean well equipped kitchen - apartments genuine 2 bedrooms
friendly and helpful hosts
very nice apartment warm and comfortable big bathroom for an apartment and they look fairly newly refurbished -

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner Operators at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Thank you for the positive response and taking time to visit Invercargill. We wish you had great time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Motel

Address: 444 North Rd, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Motel is a 4-Star owner-operated property and a member of the Host Accommodation Group. We have ground-floor apartments each with separate bedrooms with parking at the door. Large warm comfortable & clean rooms. Internet broadband, 50+channels SKY TV, DVD players. Our guests are warmly welcomed by Annabel and John who offer great southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Motel Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.